Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. J.H. Gray

John Hamilton Gray was born in 1814 at St. George's, Bermuda, British West Indies. He was of English and Loyalist ancestry, the son of William Gray, British Vice Consul, Virginia, United States. His paternal grandfather, James Gray was a Massachusetts Loyalist who came to Nova Scotia at the close of the Revolutionary War.

He was educated at King's College, Windsor, Nova Scotia, and graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1833. He studied law and was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as attorney on October 17, 1835, and as barrister on February 9, 1837.

He located at Saint John, New Brunswick, and engaged in the practice of his profession. He was created Queen's Counsel in 1853 and received an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Civil Law at the University of New Brunswick in 1856. He took an active interest in militia affairs and was promoted to Lieutenant Colonel and to command the Queens Rangers of New Brunswick in 1854.

In 1853 he married Miss Eliza Ormond in Dublin, Ireland. By this marriage there was a family of seven children.

He ran unsuccessfully in Saint John County and City for the House of Assembly at the general election of October 9, 1846 and was first elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Saint John County and City at the general election of June 20, 1850. He was re-elected at the general elections of June 1854, June 24, 1856 and April 23, 1857, and sat until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1861. At the general election of June 5, 1861 he was defeated, but was again elected at the by-election held March 18, 1863 made necessary by the death of the sitting member, John Jordon. He was again defeated at the general election of March 3, 1865 on the Confederation issue of which he was in favour. He was re-elected at the general election of June 6, 1866, and sat as a member until July 1867, when he resigned in order to stand for election to the House of Commons.

During the years 1857-1858, John Hamilton Gray acted as an arbitrator between Great Britain and the U.S.A. under the Treaty of Washington. In 1860 he was appointed commissioner to settle the tenant right question in Prince Edward Island.

He was a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick without portfolio on the administration of the Hon. John R. Partelow from September 1851 to October 31, 1854. From June 1856 to June 1857 he was Premier and Attorney General in his own administration and from June 21, 1866 to June 1867, he was Speaker of the House of Assembly.

John Hamilton Gray was a delegate to the Charlottetown Conference on the subject of Maritime Union in 1864 and to the Quebec Conference in the fall of 1864 on the issue of Confederation. He later became known as one of the Fathers of Confederation.

At the first general election for the House of Commons in September 1867, he was elected by acclamation as member for Saint John County and sat in that Parliament until 1872 when he retired.

On July 3, 1872, he was appointed a puisne judge of the Supreme Court of British Columbia. He retained this position until his death.

He died on June 5, 1889, at Victoria, British Columbia.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. John Hamilton Gray

John Hamilton Gray est né en 1814 à St. George’s, aux Bermudes, dans les Antilles britanniques. D’ascendance anglaise et loyaliste, il était le fils de William Gray, vice-consul britannique de la Virginie, aux États-Unis. Son grand-père paternel, James Gray, loyaliste du Massachusetts, était venu en Nouvelle-Écosse à la fin de la Révolution américaine.

Il a fréquenté le King’s College, à Windsor, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en 1833. Il a étudié le droit et a été admis au barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat le 17 octobre 1835 et comme avocat à la cour le 9 février 1837.

Il s’est établi à Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et il a entreprise l’exercice de sa profession. Il a été nommé conseiller de la reine en 1853 et il a reçu en 1856 un diplôme honoris causa de docteur en droit civil de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a pris une part active aux affaires ayant trait à la milice, a été promu lieutenant-colonel et a reçu le commandement des Queen’s Rangers du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1854.

En 1853, il a marié Eliza Ormond, à Dublin, en Irlande. De cette union sont nés sept enfants.

Il s’est porté candidat dans le comté et la ville de Saint John lors des élections générales provinciales du 9 octobre 1846 et a été battu. Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme député du comté et de la ville de Saint John aux élections générales du 20 juin 1850. Réélu aux élections générales de juin 1854, du 24 juin 1856 et du 23 avril 1857, il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1861. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 5 juin 1861, mais il a été réélu à l’élection partielle tenue le 18 mars 1863 à la suite du décès du député John Jordon. Il a été à nouveau battu aux élections générales du 3 mars 1865 sur la question de la Confédération dont il était en faveur. Réélu aux élections générales du 6 juin 1866, il a siégé jusqu’en juillet 1867. Il a alors démissionné afin de se présenter aux élections de la Chambre des communes.

En 1857 et 1858, John Hamilton Gray a joué le rôle d’arbitre entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis en vertu du traité de Washington. En 1860, il a été nommé commissaire et a été chargé de régler la question des droits des tenanciers de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Il était membre sans portefeuille du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick dans le gouvernement de l’hon. John R. Partelow de septembre 1851 au 31 octobre 1854. De juin 1856 à juin 1857, il a été premier ministre et procureur général dans son propre gouvernement et du 21 juin 1866 à juin 1867, il a été président de la Chambre.

John Hamilton Gray a été délégué à la Conférence de Charlottetown sur l’union des provinces Maritimes en 1864 et à la Conférence de Québec sur la question de la Confédération, à l’automne de 1864. Il est devenu connu par la suite comme l’un des Pères de la Fédération.

Aux premières élections générales pour la Chambre des communes, en septembre 1867, il a été élu par acclamation député du comté de Saint John et il a siégé au Parlement jusqu’à sa retraite en 1872.

Le 3 juillet 1872, il a été nommé juge puîné de la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique. Il a occupé ce poste jusqu’à sa mort.

Il est décédé le 5 juin 1889, à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.