Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Bev Harrison

Bev Harrison, a long-time Member of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick, was first elected in 1978. He was re-elected in 1982, as the Progressive Conservative MLA for Saint John-Fundy. He was re-elected June 7, 1999, to represent the constituency of Hampton-Belleisle. He was re-elected in 2003. In 2006 and 2010, Mr. Harrison was re-elected as the MLA for the constituency of Hampton-Kings.

During the 49th (1978-1982) and 50th (1982-1987) legislatures, he served on a variety of standing committees: agriculture, natural resources and fisheries, veterans affairs, municipalities and corporations, economic development, public accounts, estimates, privileges, procedure, standing rules, legislative administration and social development. He was a member of the select committees on constitutional reform, Maritime affairs and Canada’s future, fisheries, and land and water use. From 1980 through 1985, he chaired the government caucus.

On July 6, 1999, the Members of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick elected Mr. Harrison Speaker of the 54th Legislature. On July 29, 2003, he was re-elected Speaker of the 55th legislature, and he served in that capacity until February 14, 2006, when he was appointed to Cabinet and sworn in as Minister of Supply and Services and chosen as Government house leader. He remained a member of the Legislative Administrative Committee and he chaired the Standing Committee on Procedure.

He was re-elected September 18, 2006, as the first MLA for the new electoral district of Hampton-Kings. He served as official Opposition house leader during the first and second sessions of the 56th legislature. He was the official Opposition critic for issues related to human resources, human rights, legislative democracy, Elections New Brunswick and electoral boundaries. He was a member of the Standing Committee on Procedure.

Mr. Harrison was re-elected to the 57th Legislature in the provincial election held September 27, 2010. He chairs the Standing Committee on Privileges and is a member of the Standing Committee on Private Bills and the Standing Committee on Procedure. He sits on the Board of Management.

He was born in Saint John on May 10, 1942, and is the son of William and Jean Harrison. Educated in Saint John schools, he graduated from the University of New Brunswick with Bachelor of Arts and Education degrees and holds a Principal’s Certificate and Certificate VI. After a long teaching career spent mainly in the Saint John area, he retired as principal of Saint John High School in 1997.

His community involvement is varied and extensive. He is the former chair of District 6 and vice-chair of District 19 school boards and chair of numerous education-related committees. He served in the RCAF reserve. While he was commanding officer of the local air cadet squadron, he organized the first Duke of Edinburgh Award Program for cadets in Canada and started the first training for girls in the cadet program in Canada. He was awarded the Canadian Decoration in 1976 and the Canadian Silver Jubilee Medal in 1977. He subsequently received the Golden Jubilee Medal in 2002 and the Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.

Active in many heritage and cultural associations, Mr. Harrison has been national vice-president of the Royal Commonwealth Society, president of the St. George’s Society, warden in Trinity Anglican Church, a member of the board of directors of the New Brunswick Youth Orchestra, founding president of the New Brunswick Association of Student Activity Advisers and chairman of the New Brunswick Youth Leadership conference. He has been a member of the diocesan council, Anglican Diocese of Fredericton; and the Chairman of the board of directors of Camp Medley. Currently, Mr. Harrison is involved with the the Royal United Services Institute of New Brunswick; the Royal Canadian Air Force Association of Canada; the St. George’s Society; the St. Andrew’s Society; the Eclectic Reading Club (1870); the Kings County Historical Society; the Monarchist League of Canada; and the Hampton-Piggs Peak Partnership (Swaziland).

He is a member of several organizations in the United Kingdom, where he is a life member of the Society of the Friends of St. George’s Chapel, Windsor; a member of the Royal Air Force Club, London; a member of the Constitutional Monarchy Association; and a member of the Welsh Corgi League.

Mr. Harrison and his wife, the former Marje Nunn, have one son, Nigel, and they live in Hampton.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Bev Harrison

Bev Harrison, député de longue date à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, a été élu pour la première fois en 1978. Il a été réélu en 1982 comme député progressiste-conservateur de Saint John-Fundy. Il a été réélu le 7 juin 1999 pour représenter la circonscription de Hampton-Belleisle. Il a été réélu en 2003. En 2006 et en 2010, M. Harrison a été réélu comme député de la circonscription de Hampton-Kings.

Pendant les 49e (1978-1982) et 50e (1982-1987) législatures, M. Harrison a siégé à divers comités permanents : agriculture, ressources naturelles et pêches, affaires des anciens combattants, municipalités et corporations, développement économique, comptes publics, prévisions budgétaires, privilèges, procédure, Règlement de l’Assemblée législative, administration de l’Assemblée législative, développement social. Il a été membre du Comité spécial de la réforme constitutionnelle, du Comité spécial des affaires des Maritimes et de l’avenir du Canada, du Comité spécial des pêches et du Comité spécial de la politique sur l’utilisation du sol et de l’eau. De 1980 à 1985, il a présidé le caucus du gouvernement.

Le 6 juillet 1999, les parlementaires ont élu M. Harrison président de la 54e législature. Le 29 juillet 2003, il a été réélu président de la 55e législature, charge qu’il a occupée jusqu’au 14 février 2006, lorsqu’il a été nommé au Cabinet et leader parlementaire du gouvernement et qu’il a été assermenté ministre de l’Approvisionnement et des Services. Il est demeuré membre du Comité d’administration de l’Assemblée législative et a présidé le Comité permanent de la procédure.

Il a été réélu le 18 septembre 2006 en tant que premier député de la nouvelle circonscription électorale de Hampton-Kings. Il a été leader parlementaire de l’opposition officielle pendant les deux premières sessions de la 56e législature. Il a été porte-parole de l’opposition officielle dans les domaines d’intérêt liés aux ressources humaines, aux droits de la personne, à la démocratie parlementaire, à Élections Nouveau-Brunswick et à la délimitation des circonscriptions électorales. Il a siégé au Comité permanent de la procédure.

M. Harrison a été réélu à la 57e législature aux élections provinciales du 27 septembre 2010. Il est président du Comité permanent des privilèges et siège au Comité permanent des projets de loi d’intérêt privé et au Comité permanent de la procédure. Il siège au Conseil de gestion.

Il est né à Saint John le 10 mai 1942 ; il est le fils de William et de Jean Harrison. Après avoir fréquenté les écoles de Saint John, il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts et un baccalauréat en éducation de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et il détient un certificat d’aptitude à la direction des écoles ainsi qu’un certificat VI. Après une longue carrière en enseignement, surtout dans la région de Saint John, il a pris sa retraite à titre de directeur de la Saint John High School en 1997.

La contribution de M. Harrison auprès de sa collectivité est variée et étendue. Il a été président du conseil scolaire du district 6 et vice-président du conseil scolaire du district 19, et il a présidé de nombreux comités liés à l’éducation. Il a servi dans le corps de réserve de l’ARC. Lorsqu’il était commandant de l’escadron local des cadets de l’air, il a organisé le premier programme du Prix du duc d’Édimbourg pour les cadets du Canada et il a mis sur pied le premier programme de formation des cadettes au Canada. Il a reçu la Décoration des Forces canadiennes en 1976 et la Médaille canadienne commémorative du règne de la reine en 1977. Il a par la suite reçu la Médaille du jubilé d’or en 2002 et la Médaille du jubilé de diamant en 2012.

Membre actif de nombreuses associations liées au patrimoine et à la culture, il a été vice-président national de la Société Royale du Commonwealth, président de la St. George’s Society, marguillier de l’église anglicane Trinity, membre du conseil d’administration de la New Brunswick Youth Orchestra, président la New Brunswick Association of Student Activity Advisors et président de la conférence Leadership jeunesse du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a été membre du conseil diocésain anglican de Fredericton et président du conseil d’administration de Camp Medley. Actuellement, M. Harrison joue un rôle auprès du Royal United Services Institute of New Brunswick, de la Royal Canadian Air Force Association, de la St. George’s Society, de la St. Andrew’s Society, du Eclectic Reading Club (1870), de la Kings County Historical Society, de la Monarchist League of Canada et du Hampton-Piggs Peak Partnership, au Swaziland.

Il est membre de plusieurs organisations du Royaume-Uni, où il est membre à vie de la Society of the Friends of St George’s Chapel, à Windsor ; membre du Royal Air Force Club, à Londres ; membre de la Constitutional Monarchy Association ; membre de la Welsh Corgi League.

M. Harrison et sa femme, Marje Nunn, ont un fils, Nigel, et ils habitent Hampton.