Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. J.E. Hetherington M.D.

Judson Egbert Hetherington was born May 15, 1866, at Thornetown, Queens County, N.B., of English ancestry, the son of Thomas and Violet D. Thorne Hetherington.

Educated at the Codys public school and at the Baptist Seminary in Fredericton, N. B., he studied medicine at the Chicago Homeopathic Hospital, Chicago, Illinois, and at Rush Medical School, Chicago, Illinois.

He practiced his profession in Chicago for a short while and then returned to Codys to practice medicine. He was President of Hetherington Brothers Mercantile, Lumbering and Milling Company, a member of the Union Club and Elks Club, the Canadian Club of Boston and a member of A.F. & A.M.

On June 11, 1894, he married Miss Anna H. Lancey. They had a family of two daughters.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as a member for Queens County at the general election of February 24, 1917. He was elected at the general election of October 9, 1920 and at a by-election held December 27, 1920, which was made necessary by his acceptance of office. At the general election of August 10, 1925 he was defeated and retired from politics.

On March 6, 1919, he was chosen Speaker of the House of Assembly when William Currie, resigned. Mr. Hetherington presided as Speaker for the remaining two sessions of that Legislature.

On December 2, 1920, he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the portfolio of Provincial Secretary-Treasurer in the administration of the Hon. Walter E. Foster. He held that position until September 10, 1925, when Foster's administration resigned following its defeat at the general election of that year.

He died January 29, 1928, while undergoing an operation in Montreal, Quebec.

The Daily Gleaner of January 30, 1928 describes Dr. Hetherington:

Dr. Hetherington had ably sustained the important duties of administering the provincial finances for several years and later filled the office of Speaker with dignity and wise judgment. He had attained much success in the medical profession in Chicago when he returned some years ago to his native province and his home county of Queens.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. Judson Egbert Hetherington M.D.

Judson Egbert Hetherington est né le 15 mai 1866 à Thornetown, dans le comté de Queens, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance anglaise, il était le fils de Thomas et de Violet D. Thorne Hetherington.

Il a fréquenté l’école publique de Codys et le séminaire baptiste de Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et a étudié la médecine au Chicago Homeopathic Hospital, à Chicago, dans l’Illinois, et à la Rush Medical School, à Chicago également.

Il a exercé sa profession à Chicago pendant une courte période et est ensuite retourné à Codys pour exercer la médecine. Il a été président de Hetherington Brothers Mercantile, Lumbering and Milling Company, membre du Union Club et du Elks Club, du Canadian Club de Boston et des Ancient Free & Accepted Masons.

Le 11 juin 1894, il a épousé Anna H. Lancey. De cette union sont nées deux filles.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick comme député du comté de Queens aux élections générales du 24 février 1917. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 9 octobre 1920 et élu à une élection partielle tenue le 27 décembre 1920 et rendue nécessaire par suite de son acceptation d’un portefeuille. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 10 août 1925 et s’est retiré de la politique.

Le 6 mars 1919, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative à la suite de la démission de William Currie. M. Hetherington a agi comme président durant les deux dernières sessions de la législature.

Le 2 décembre 1920, il a été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et a reçu le portefeuille de secrétaire-trésorier de la province dans le gouvernement de l’hon. Walter E. Foster. Il a assumé la charge jusqu’au 10 septembre 1925, date de la démission du gouvernement Foster à la suite de sa défaite aux élections générales de cette année-là.

M. Hetherington est décédé le 29 janvier 1928, au cours d’une intervention chirurgicale, à Montréal, au Québec.

Le Daily Gleaner du 30 janvier 1928 l’a décrit en ces termes :

Le docteur Hetherington s’est acquitté avec compétence, pendant plusieurs années, des tâches importantes que comporte l’administration des finances de la province, et il a plus tard occupé la charge de président avec dignité et en faisant preuve d’un bon jugement. Il avait remporté beaucoup de succès dans la profession médicale, à Chicago, lorsqu’il est revenu, il y a un certain nombre d’années, dans sa province natale et dans son comté de Queens. [Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.