Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. G.F. Hill

George Frederic Hill was born February 19, 1832 at St. Stephen, Charlotte County, New Brunswick. He was of Colonial English ancestry, the son of the Hon. George Stillman Hill and his wife, Sarah Upton Hill, of St. Stephen, N.B. George Frederic Hill's father, George Stillman Hill, was for many years a member of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick and served on both the Executive Council and the Legislative Council. The paternal grandparents of George Frederic Hill were Abner and Mary Hill.

George Hill was educated at the St. Stephen public school and in the United States. He studied law and was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as an attorney in April 1854.

He located at St. Stephen and engaged in the mercantile business. He established a successful business which he continued to manage until his retirement in 1882. He never returned to the practice of law but his early legal training served him well in his business and political career.

He was official assignee for Charlotte County under the old bankruptcy law from 1869 until the law was repealed in 1878.

He was unmarried.

George Hill was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as a member for Charlotte County at the general election of March 16, 1865, on the issue of Confederation, to which he was opposed. At this time, there was intense excitement over the scheme of the confederation of the provinces. Many able politicians succumbed to the varying successes of the two parties over this question. Mr. Hill sat the two sessions of that Legislature until its dissolution in 1866.

At the general election of June 12, 1866, again on the issue of Confederation, he was defeated. He was elected to the House of Assembly again at the general election of June 13, 1878. On May 25, 1882, he was called to a seat in the Legislative Council and continued a member of that body until its abolishment in 1892. At the general election of October 22, 1892, he was again elected to the House of Assembly. He was re-elected at the general elections of October 9, 1895; February 18, 1899; February 28, 1903 and sat continuously as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1908, when he declined re-nomination and retired from active political life.

On March 23, 1899, he was chosen Speaker of the House of Assembly and held this position until his resignation in August of 1900.

On September 1, 1900, he was sworn in as member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the appointment of Minister Without Portfolio in the administration of the Hon. Lemuel J. Tweedie. He held this position until February 1903, when he resigned from the Executive Council.

He died October 21, 1910 at his residence, St. Stephen, New Brunswick, at the age of 78. The Daily Gleaner, October 22, 1910, described Hon. Mr. Hill:

Mr. Hill was a man of wide reading, and a public speaker of great power and eloquence. A man of independent spirit and stern ideas of duty. His impatience of the restraints of party prevented him from obtaining more high offices which his natural abilities and extensive information on many subjects would have enabled him to adorn. No government that strayed in the slightest degree from the straight and narrow path of rectitude escaped his trenchant criticism.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. George Frederic Hill

George Frederic Hill est né le 19 février 1832 à St. Stephen, dans le comté de Charlotte, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance coloniale anglaise, il était le fils de l’hon. George Stillman Hill et de Sarah Upton Hill, de St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Le père de George Frederic Hill, George Stillman Hill, avait été pendant de nombreuses années député de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick et avait fait partie du Conseil exécutif et du Conseil législatif. Les grands-parents paternels de George Frederic Hill étaient Abner et Mary Hill.

George Hill a fréquenté l’école publique de St. Stephen ainsi que des écoles aux États-Unis. Il a étudié le droit et a été admis en avril 1854 au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick à titre d’avocat.

Il s’est établi à St. Stephen, où il a travaillé dans une entreprise commerciale. Il a établi une entreprise prospère qu’il a continué à gérer jusqu’à sa retraite en 1882. Il n’a jamais repris l’exercice du droit, mais sa formation juridique antérieure lui a été utile dans sa carrière dans les affaires et la politique.

Il a été syndic officiel pour le comté de Charlotte, en vertu de l’ancienne loi sur la faillite, de 1869 jusqu’à l’abrogation de la loi en 1878.

Il était célibataire.

George Hill a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick comme député du comté de Charlotte aux élections générales du 16 mars 1865, sur la question de la confédération, à laquelle il s’opposait. À l’époque, l’idée d’une confédération des provinces a provoqué beaucoup d’énervement. De nombreux politiciens compétents sont devenus victimes des succès variés des deux partis à l’égard de la question. M. Hill a siégé pendant les deux sessions de la législature jusqu’à sa dissolution en 1866.

Aux élections générales du 12 juin 1866, qui portait encore une fois sur la confédération, il a été battu. Il a été réélu à l’Assemblée législative aux élections générales du 13 juin 1878. Le 25 mai 1882, il a été nommé au Conseil législatif, dont il a continué de faire partie jusqu’à l’abolition du conseil en 1892. Il a été réélu à l’Assemblée législative aux élections générales du 22 octobre 1892. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 9 octobre 1895, du 18 février 1899 et du 28 février 1903, et il a siégé sans interruption jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1908 ; il a alors refusé de se représenter et s’est retiré de la vie politique active.

Le 23 mars 1899, M. Hill a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative et a occupé le poste jusqu’à sa démission en août 1900.

Le 1er septembre 1900, il a été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et nommé ministre sans portefeuille dans le gouvernement de l’hon. Lemuel J. Tweedie. Il a occupé le poste jusqu’à sa démission du Conseil exécutif en février 1903.

George Hill est décédé le 21 octobre 1910 à l’âge de 78 ans, chez lui, à St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Le Daily Gleaner du 22 octobre 1910 décrit l’hon. M. Hill en ces termes :

M. Hill, un homme instruit, a été un orateur puissant et éloquent. Il avait un esprit indépendant et un concept inébranlable du devoir. Une impatience à l’égard des contraintes du parti l’a empêché d’obtenir des postes élevés que ses capacités naturelles et ses connaissances approfondies dans de nombreux domaines lui auraient permis d’occuper. Aucun gouvernement qui s’est écarté tant soit peu du droit chemin n’a échappé de ses critiques mordantes. [Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.