Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. John Mercer Johnson

John Mercer Johnson was born in October, 1818, in Liverpool, England, the son of John M. Johnson. The family emigrated to Chatham, Northumberland County, New Brunswick where Mr. Johnson, Sr. was engaged in the lumber business and became sheriff of Northumberland County.

John Johnson, Jr. was educated at the Chatham Grammar School. He studied law and was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as an attorney October 13, 1838 and as a barrister in October 1840. He located at Chatham where he practiced law and became one of the leading lawyers on the North Shore. On October 9, 1843 he married Miss Henrietta Shireff, daughter of A. D. Shireff of Miramichi. By this marriage there were several children.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as one of the members for Northumberland County at the general election of July 2, 1850. He was re-elected at the general elections of June 20, 1854, June 27, 1856, May 5, 1857 and June 1861. He was also elected at by-elections held November 14, 1854, July 22, 1857 and October 28, 1862 made necessary by his acceptance of portfolios. He sat continuously as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1865.

At the general election of March 18, 1865, he was defeated on the issue of Confederation, of which he was in favour. He was again elected to the House at the general election of May 25, 1866 on the same issue and sat as a member until June 1867 when he resigned his seat in order to enter federal politics.

On October 31, 1854, he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the appointment of Solicitor General in the administration of Hon. Charles Fisher. He held this appointment until Fisher's administration resigned in 1856. On June 1, 1857 he was again sworn in as a member of the Council and received the portfolio of Postmaster General. He resigned this portfolio in November 1858 and was appointed Minister Without Portfolio, resigning the latter appointment in 1859.

In October 1862 he again joined the Executive Council when he accepted the portfolio of Attorney General in the Tilley administration.

He was first elected Speaker of the House of Assembly on February 11, 1859 after Hon. James A. Harding resigned to accept the position of High Sheriff of the City and County of Saint John. He was re-elected Speaker of the House of Assembly on February 12, 1862 and retained the position through that session until his appointment as Attorney General later in the year.

He was a New Brunswick delegate to the Charlottetown Conference in 1864 at which Confederation was proposed; he was a delegate to the Quebec Conference in the fall of 1864 and to the London Conference in 1866 when The British North America Act was drawn up and passed by the Imperial Parliament. Because of his participation in these conferences and the active role he played in bringing about the union of the provinces, he is referred to as one of the Fathers of Confederation.

At the first federal general election in 1867, he was elected to the new House of Commons for the County of Northumberland and sat as a member until his death.

He died November 8, 1868 at his residence in Chatham at the age of 50.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. John Mercer Johnson

John Mercer Johnson, fils de John M. Johnson, est né en octobre 1818 à Liverpool, en Angleterre. La famille a émigré à Chatham, dans le comté de Northumberland, au Nouveau-Brunswick, où M. Johnson, père, a travaillé dans l’industrie du bois et est devenu shérif du comté de Northumberland.

John Johnson, fils, a fait ses études à la Chatham Grammar School. Il a étudié le droit et a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat le 13 octobre 1838 et comme avocat plaidant en octobre 1840. Il s’est établi à Chatham, où il a exercé le droit et est devenu l’un des avocats les plus renommés de la Côte-Nord. Le 9 octobre 1843, il a épousé Henrietta Shireff, fille d’A.D. Shireff, de Miramichi. De cette union sont nés plusieurs enfants.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick aux élections générales du 2 juillet 1850 comme l’un des députés du comté de Northumberland. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 20 juin 1854, du 27 juin 1856, du 5 mai 1857 et de juin 1861. Il a également été élu à des élections partielles tenues le 14 novembre 1854, le 22 juillet 1857 et le 28 octobre 1862, élections rendues nécessaires par son acceptation de portefeuilles. Il a siégé sans interruption jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1865.

Aux élections générales du 18 mars 1865, il a été battu sur la question de la confédération, idée qu’il appuyait. Il a de nouveau été élu à la Chambre aux élections générales du 25 mai 1866, sur la même question, et a siégé jusqu’en juin 1867, lorsqu’il a démissionné afin d’entrer sur la scène politique fédérale.

Le 31 octobre 1854, il a été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et a été nommé solliciteur général dans le gouvernement de l’hon. Charles Fisher. Il a occupé le poste jusqu’à la démission du gouvernement Fisher, en 1856. Le 1er juin 1857, il a de nouveau été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif et a reçu le portefeuille de maître général des Postes. Il a renoncé à ce portefeuille en novembre 1858 et a été nommé ministre sans portefeuille, poste auquel il a renoncé en 1859.

En octobre 1862, il est de nouveau entré au Conseil exécutif en acceptant le portefeuille de procureur général dans le gouvernement Tilley.

Il a été élu pour la première fois président de l’Assemblée législative le 11 février 1859, après la démission de l’hon. James A. Harding pour devenir haut shérif de la ville et du comté de Saint John. Il a été réélu président de l’Assemblée le 12 février 1862, poste qu’il a occupé pendant la session en cours, jusqu’à sa nomination à titre de procureur général plus tard dans l’année.

Il a été l’un des délégués du Nouveau-Brunswick à la Conférence de Charlottetown de 1864 durant laquelle l’idée de la confédération a été proposée. Il a été l’un des délégués à la Conférence de Québec à l’automne 1864 et à la Conférence de Londres en 1866, où l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique a été rédigé et adopté par le Parlement impérial. En raison de sa participation à ces conférences et du rôle actif qu’il a joué en vue de l’union des provinces, il est mentionné comme étant l’un des Pères de la Confédération.

Aux premières élections générales fédérales de 1867, il a été élu à la nouvelle Chambre des Communes pour représenter le comté de Northumberland et y a siégé jusqu’à sa mort.

Il est décédé le 8 novembre 1868, à l’âge de 50 ans, à sa résidence de Chatham.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.