Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. J.E. Lynott

James Edward Lynott was born June 26, 1839, at St. George, Charlotte County, New Brunswick of Irish ancestry. He was the son of Edward Lynott, County Leitrim, Ireland, merchant, and his wife, Mary Lynott of County Cavan, Ireland.

He was educated at the St. George public school.

James Lynott located at St. George, Charlotte County, and engaged in agriculture and in business as a merchant. In 1855 he was appointed a Justice of the Peace for Charlotte County.

He was president of the St. George and Pennfield Agricultural Society for ten years. He was active in the St. George Catholic Total Abstinence Society for two years. For three years he was secretary of the Grand Southern Railway Company. He served as secretary of the Board of School Trustees, St. George, New Brunswick, and served on the Charlotte County Municipal Council for several years as a councillor for his parish.

On May 4, 1863, he married Miss Kathleen A. Sullivan, third daughter of Daniel Sullivan, Police Magistrate, St. Stephen, N.B. By this marriage there were four sons.

James Lynott was defeated in a bid to represent Charlotte County in the general election of July 5, 1870. He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as one of the members for Charlotte County at the general election of June 13, 1878. He was re-elected at the general election of June 1882, and sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1886. At the general election of April 26, 1886, he was defeated and was out of active politics until his death.

On February 22, 1883, he was chosen Speaker of the House of Assembly of the province of New Brunswick, a position he held until 1886.

He died on January 7, 1890, at his residence, St. George, New Brunswick, after a short illness and was buried in the Roman Catholic cemetery at St. George, N.B.

An editorial in The Gleaner of Wednesday, January 8, 1890 describes Mr. Lynott;

Mr. Lynott's whole career in public life has been honorable and upright. Even those politically opposed to him openly avowed their implicit confidence in his word, and their firm faith in his promises, which, be it said, he never failed to fulfil. As Speaker of the House, his conduct was courteous and impartial, and his rulings were never called in question. Though the deceased had his political leanings, he never, owing to the great principle of rectitude which he ever recognized in his walk through life, was a strong party man.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. James Edward Lynott

James Edward Lynott est né le 26 juin 1839 à St. George, dans le comté de Charlotte, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance irlandaise, il était le fils d’un marchant, Edward Lynott, du comté de Leitrim, en Irlande, et de Mary Lynott, du comté de Cavan, en Irlande.

Il a fréquenté l’école publique de St. George.

James Lynott s’est établi à St. George, dans le comté de Charlotte, et a oeuvré dans l’agriculture et dans le commerce à titre de marchand. En 1855, il a été nommé juge de paix pour le comté de Charlotte.

Il a été pendant 10 ans président de la St. George and Pennfield Agricultural Society. Il a été actif au sein de la St. George Catholic Total Abstinence Society pendant 2 ans. Il a été secrétaire de la Grand Southern Railway Company pendant trois ans. Il a occupé le poste de secrétaire du conseil scolaire de St. George, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et il a été membre du conseil municipal du comté de Charlotte pendant plusieurs années à titre de conseiller de sa paroisse.

Le 4 mai 1863, il a épousé Kathleen A. Sullivan, troisième fille de Daniel Sullivan, magistrat de police à St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick. De cette union sont nés quatre fils.

Aux élections générales du 5 juillet 1870, James Lynott s’est présenté comme candidat dans le comté de Charlotte, mais il a été battu. Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick comme un des députés du comté de Charlotte aux élections générales du 13 juin 1878. Réélu aux élections générales de juin 1882, il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1886. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 26 avril 1886 et il n’a plus participé, jusqu’à sa mort, à la politique active.

Le 22 février 1883, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, charge qu’il a occupée jusqu’en 1886.

Il est décédé le 7 janvier 1890 à sa résidence, à St. George, au Nouveau-Brunswick, après une courte maladie, et il est enterré dans le cimetière catholique romain de l’endroit.

Un éditorial du journal The Gleaner du mercredi 8 janvier 1890 décrit ainsi M. Lynott :

Dans la vie publique, M. Lynott a toujours agi d’une manière honorable et intègre. Même ses adversaires politiques déclaraient ouvertement leur confiance sans réserve en sa parole et leur foi inébranlable dans ses promesses, que, disons-le, il a toujours tenues. En tant que président, il agissait avec courtoisie et impartialité, et ses décisions n’ont jamais été mises en question. Bien qu’il ait eu ses préférences politiques, il n’a jamais été fortement un homme de parti, en raison du grand principe de rectitude qu’il a respecté tout au long de sa vie.[Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.