Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Robert B. McCready

Robert B. McCready was born at Shannon, Queens County, New Brunswick on October 28, 1921. Mr. McCready, a businessman and restaurant owner, was first elected to the Legislature as Liberal representative for Queens County in the general election held October 23, 1967. He was subsequently re-elected at the general election of October 26, 1970.

He was defeated in a bid to represent Queens South at the general election of November 18, 1974.He was re-elected on October 23, 1978.

On October 12, 1982 he was elected as Progressive Conservative representative for Queens South.

Mr. McCready was on different committees of the Legislative Assembly. He served as a member of the Select Committee on Aquaculture and the Standing Committees on Agriculture, Natural Resources and Fisheries and Economic Development.

Mr. McCready was first elected Speaker on February 27, 1968 and held this position until 1970. He was re-elected Speaker on March 12, 1979 and held the position until his resignation dated March 19 was accepted at the first daily sitting of the Forty-Ninth Legislative Assembly, March 24, 1981.

Mr. McCready was subsequently re-elected as a Progressive Conservative. He was appointed to the Executive Council of New Brunswick and accepted the portfolio of Minister of Transportation on October 3, 1985. He held this position until October 1987, when the Progressive Conservatives were defeated in the general election. Following his retirement from politics, Mr. McCready established the Robert B. McCready tree farm for his grandchildren.

Mr. McCready was married and the father of six children. He died in 1995.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. Robert B. McCready

Robert B. McCready est né le 28 octobre 1921 à Shannon, dans le comté de Queens, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Homme d’affaires et propriétaire de restaurant, il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme député libéral du comté de Queens aux élections générales du 23 octobre 1967. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 26 octobre 1970.

Il a été battu aux élections générales du 18 novembre 1974 lorsqu’il s’est présenté candidat dans Queens-Sud. Il a été réélu le 23 octobre 1978.

Le 12 octobre 1982, il a été élu député progressiste-conservateur de Queens-Sud.

M. McCready a siégé à divers comités de l’Assemblée législative. Il a été membre du Comité spécial de l’aquiculture, du Comité permanent de l’agriculture, des ressources naturelles et des pêches et du Comité permanent de l’expansion économique.

Il a été élu président pour la première fois le 27 février 1968 et il a occupé ce poste jusqu’en 1970. Il a été réélu président le 12 mars 1979 et il a occupé ce poste jusqu’à ce que sa démission datée du 19 mars soit acceptée au cours de la première séance de la 49e législature, le 24 mars 1981.

M. McCready a été réélu comme progressiste-conservateur. Il a été nommé au Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et il a accepté le portefeuille de ministre des Transports le 3 octobre 1985. Il a occupé ce poste jusqu’en octobre 1987, lorsque les Progressistes-Conservateurs ont été défaits aux élections générales. Après qu’il son retrait de la politique, il a établi la plantation d’arbres Robert B. McCready pour ses petits-enfants.

Il était marié et il avait six enfants. Il est décédé en 1995.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.