Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Eugene McGinley

Eugene McGinley was born in Chipman, New Brunswick, and graduated from high school there in 1953. In 1957, he graduated from UNB with his B.A. (Honours in Economics), in 1958, he obtained a Master of Arts (Economics) and was employed as a Research Economist with Atlantic Province Economic Council. As a Sir James Dunn Scholar, he earned his Bachelor of Civil Law Degree from UNB in 1962. Following his studies at UNB, he studied International and Civil law in Texas. He was admitted to the New Brunswick Barrister’s Society in 1962 and began practicing law in Bathurst that year.

Mr. McGinley has been active in Liberal politics since the age of 17. He was first elected to the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly in a December 11, 1972 by-election. He was re-elected in 1974 to represent the City of Bathurst, where he and his late wife, Alberta, raised their five children.

In 1985, he was honoured with the designation of Queen’s Counsel. He was the Chairperson of the New Brunswick Labour and Employment Board for 5 years, completing his term in 2003. Later in 2003, he was re-elected to represent the riding of Grand Lake-Gagetown in the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly. He was elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly in February 2007 and held this position until October 2007, when he assumed the position of Minister of State for Seniors and Minister of State for Housing. Until his retirement prior to the 2010 general election, he served on various Standing Committees.

He is the proud father of 3 sons, 2 daughters, 2 step-daughters, 13 grandchildren and 1 great-granddaughter. He resides in Chipman with his wife Anne Marie.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. Eugene McGinley

Eugene McGinley est né à Chipman, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et y a obtenu son diplôme d’études secondaires en 1953. En 1957, il a obtenu son baccalauréat ès arts avec concentration en économie de UNB. En 1958, il a obtenu une maîtrise ès arts avec concentration en économie et a travaillé comme économiste chargé de recherches pour le Conseil économique des provinces de l’Atlantique. En tant que boursier de la fondation Sir James Dunn, M. McGinley a obtenu son baccalauréat en droit civil de UNB en 1962. À la suite des ses études à UNB, il a étudié le droit international et civil au Texas. Il a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1962 et a commencé à pratiquer le droit à Bathurst la même année.

M. McGinley est actif dans le domaine de la politique libérale depuis l’âge de 17 ans. Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick à l’élection partielle du 11 décembre 1972. Il a été réélu en 1974 pour représenter la ville de Bathurst, où sa défunte femme, Alberta, et lui ont élevé leurs cinq enfants.

En 1985, il a reçu le titre de conseiller de la Reine. Il a été président de la Commission du travail et de l’emploi du Nouveau-Brunswick pendant 5 ans et a terminé son mandat en 2003. Plus tard en 2003, il a été réélu pour représenter la circonscription de Grand Lake-Gagetown à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. M. McGinley a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative en février 2007 et a occupé le poste jusqu’en octobre 2007, lorsqu’il a assumé la charge de ministre d’État aux Aînés et ministre d’État à l’Habitation. Jusqu’à sa retraite avant les élections générales de 2010, il a siégé à divers comités permanents.

Eugene McGinley est le fier père de 3 fils, 2 filles et 2 belles-filles, le fier grand-père de 13 petits-enfants et le fier arrière-grand-père de 1 arrière-petite-fille. Il demeure à Chipman avec sa femme, Anne Marie.