Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. F.A. McGrand

Frederic Addison McGrand was born July 5, 1895, at Keswick Ridge, York County, New Brunswick, the son of Daniel and Rose Feeney McGrand.

He was educated at the Keswick public school; St. Thomas College, Chatham, N.B.; and at the Provincial Normal School, Fredericton, where he graduated in 1916. He taught school for a number of years and later studied medicine at McGill University, Montreal, P.Q. He received his M.D. in 1923.

He practiced medicine at Welsford and Fredericton Junction. He served as Queens County Councillor for the Parish of Petersville from 1927 to 1937 and was Queens County Warden from 1935 to 1937.

On September 8, 1924, he married Miss May Harkin. By this marriage there was a family of two daughters.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as a Liberal member for Queens County at the general election of June 27, 1935, and sat during that Legislature until its dissolution in 1939.

In 1938 he moved to Fredericton Junction. Re-elected to the House of Assembly as a member for Sunbury County in the general elections of November 20, 1939; August 28, 1944; and June 28, 1948, he sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1952. At the general election of September 22, 1952, he was defeated and retired from local politics.

On April 4, 1940, he was chosen Speaker of the House of Assembly and held this appointment until 1944. On September 27, 1944, he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the appointment of Minister of Health in the Administration of the Hon. John B. McNair. On November 2, 1948, he assumed the appointment of Minister of Social Services along with that of Minister of Health. He held these positions until October 8, 1952, when the McNair administration resigned following its defeat at the general election of that year.

On July 28, 1955, he was summoned to the Senate of Canada as a member in that House. Senator McGrand chaired the Senate Committee that studied Early Childhood Experiences as causes of Criminal Behaviour and subsequently published and released the report "Child at Risk" in 1980.

Mr. McGrand died at the age of 93 at his home in Ottawa, Ontario, on September 6th, 1988.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B. and the Legislative Library, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. Frederic Addison McGrand

Frederic Addison McGrand est né le 5 juillet 1895 à Keswick Ridge, dans le comté de York, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était le fils de Daniel et de Rose Feeney McGrand.

Il a fréquenté l’école publique de Keswick, le St. Thomas College, à Chatham, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et le New Brunswick Teachers’ College, à Fredericton, d’où il a obtenu son diplôme en 1916. Il a enseigné pendant un certain nombre d’années et a étudié par la suite la médecine à l’Université McGill, à Montréal, au Québec. Il a obtenu son doctorat en médecine en 1923.

Il a exercé la médecine à Welsford et à Fredericton Junction. Il a été conseiller du comté de Queens pour la paroisse de Petersville de 1927 à 1937 et préfet du comté de Queens de 1935 à 1937.

Le 8 septembre 1924, il a épousé May Harkin. De cette union sont nées deux filles.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick comme député libéral du comté de Queens aux élections générales du 27 juin 1935 et a siégé au cours de cette législature jusqu’à sa dissolution en 1939.

En 1938, il s’est établi à Fredericton Junction. Réélu à l’Assemblée législative comme député du comté de Sunbury aux élections générales du 20 novembre 1939, du 28 août 1944 et du 28 juin 1948, il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1952. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 22 septembre 1952 et s’est retiré de la politique locale.

Le 4 avril 1940, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative et a occupé la charge jusqu’en 1944. Le 27 septembre 1944, il a été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et a été nommé ministre de la Santé dans le gouvernement de l’hon. John B. McNair. Le 2 novembre 1948, il a reçu le portefeuille des Services sociaux tout en conservant celui de la Santé. Il a assumé les deux charges jusqu’au 8 octobre 1952, date de la démission du gouvernement McNair par suite de sa défaite aux élections générales de cette année-là.

Le 28 juillet 1955, il a été nommé au Sénat du Canada. Le sénateur McGrand a présidé le comité du Sénat qui a étudié la délinquance imputable aux expériences de l’enfance et, par la suite, a publié et distribué, en 1980, le rapport L’enfant en péril.

M. McGrand est décédé à l’âge de 93 ans chez lui à Ottawa, en Ontario, le 6 septembre 1988.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.