Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. John McKay

John Bradley McKay was born June 8, 1948, at Newcastle, N.B., the son of William John McKay and Elmira Scott.

He received his early education at Harkins Academy and attended the New Brunswick Teachers' College. He is a graduate of the University of New Brunswick.

A teacher, Mr. McKay was elected to the Legislature November 18, 1974, to represent the Liberal Party in the new single-member riding of Miramichi-Newcastle. Mr. McKay was re-elected on October 23, 1978, and served four years as Financial Critic. He was re-elected October 13, 1987, and September 23, 1991. After a provincial redistribution, he was re-elected September 11, 1995, to represent the new constituency of Miramichi Centre.

He has served on the Legislature’s Standing Committees on Agriculture, Natural Resources and Fisheries; Contingencies; Crown Corporations; Energy; Law Amendments; Legislative Administration; Municipalities and Corporations; Natural Resources; Private Bills; Privileges; Procedure; Public Accounts, and Standing Rules. He served on the Select Committee on Renewable Resources and the Special Committee on Economic Policy Development. He was also Chairman of Government Caucus.

A Newcastle town councillor for nine years, Mr. McKay was chairman of the Finance Committee, deputy mayor, and elected mayor in 1986. He has been president of the Miramichi Airport Commission, vice-president and director of the Miramichi Agricultural Exhibition Association, member of the Miramichi Hospital Board, director of Big Brothers, director of the Miramichi Planning District Commission, and president of the North Shore Trotting Association.

Mr. McKay is past president of the Miramichi Historical Society, former director of the French Fort Cove Development Commission, former director of the Northumberland Organization of the Disabled and a member of the Newcastle Rotary Club.

Mr. McKay was elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly on November 4, 1997.

Following the 1999 election, Mr. McKay returned to municipal politics as a city councillor. On May 10, 2004, he was elected Mayor of Miramichi. He served in this capacity until 2008.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. John McKay

John Bradley McKay est né le 8 juin 1948 à Newcastle, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est le fils de William John McKay et d’Elmira Scott.

Il a fréquenté la Harkins Academy et a étudié à au New Brunswick Teachers’ College. Il détient un diplôme de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Enseignant, M. McKay a été élu à l’Assemblée législative le 18 novembre 1974 à titre de député du Parti libéral dans la nouvelle circonscription à représentation unique de Miramichi-Newcastle. Réélu le 23 octobre 1978, il a été critique financier pendant quatre ans. Il a été réélu le 13 octobre 1987 ainsi que le 23 septembre 1991. À la suite d’un remaniement des circonscriptions de la province, il a été réélu le 11 septembre 1995 pour représenter la nouvelle circonscription de Miramichi-Centre.

Il a été membre des comités permanents suivants : Comité de l’agriculture, des ressources naturelles et des pêches ; Comité des dépenses imprévues ; Comité des corporations de la Couronne ; Comité de l’énergie ; Comité de modification des lois ; Comité d’administration de l’Assemblée législative ; Comité des municipalités et des corporations ; Comité des ressources naturelles ; Comité des projets de loi d’intérêt privé ; Comité des privilèges ; Comité de la procédure ; Comité des comptes publics ; Comité du Règlement de l’Assemblée législative. Il a été membre du Comité spécial des ressources renouvelables et du Comité spécial d’élaboration de la politique économique. Il a aussi été président du caucus du gouvernement.

M. McKay a été conseiller municipal de Newcastle pendant neuf ans, président du comité des finances, maire suppléant et, en 1986, il a été élu maire. Il a été président de la Miramichi Airport Commission, vice-président et administrateur de la Miramichi Agricultural Exhibition Association, administrateur du Miramichi Hospital, administrateur des Grands frères, administrateur de la Commission du district d’aménagement de Miramichi et président de la North Shore Trotting Association.

Il a été président de la Miramichi Historical Society, administrateur de la French Fort Cove Development Commission, administrateur de l’organisation pour les handicapés de Northumberland et membre du club Rotary de Newcastle.

M. McKay a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative le 4 novembre 1997.

À la suite des élections de 1999, M. McKay est retourné en politique municipale en tant que conseiller municipal. Le 10 mai 2004, il a été élu maire de Miramichi. Il a occupé ce poste jusqu’en 2008.