Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. O.M. Melanson

Olivier Maximin Melanson was born July 2, 1854, at Aboujagane, Shediac Parish, Westmorland County, New Brunswick, the son of Maximin and Julie LeBlanc Melanson, both of Acadian ancestry.

He was educated at the Shediac parish school and he located at Shediac, N.B., where he engaged in business as a general merchant. He established the firm of O.M. Melanson Company Limited, a leading commercial firm of Shediac for many years. He was a member of the Shediac town council for many years. He also served on the Westmorland County Council.

On February 12, 1878, he married Miss Marguerite Boudreau, daughter of Jude Boudreau, Cap-Pelé. By this marriage there was a large family.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as one of the members for Westmorland County at the general election of January 20, 1890, and sat in that Legislature until its dissolution in 1892. At the general election of October 22, 1892, he was defeated and remained out of active politics for several years. He was again elected as a member at the general election of February 18, 1899 and sat as a member until the dissolution in 1903. He was defeated at the general elections of February 28, 1903, and March 3, 1908, but re-elected at the general election of June 20, 1912, and sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1917 when he declined renomination and retired.

At the session of 1914, he was chosen Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly, during the illness of the Speaker, Hon. Walter B. Dickson. On March 9, 1916, he was appointed Speaker following the death of Hon. Mr. Dickson.

He died July 7, 1926, in the Moncton City Hospital.

The Daily Times of July 8, 1926 describes Hon. Mr. Melanson:

He was recognized as not only one of the leading French Acadians in the Province of New Brunswick, but he was known and highly regarded in the business and political world throughout the Dominion.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. Oliver Maximin Melanson

Olivier Maximin Melanson est né le 2 juillet 1854 à Aboujagane, dans la paroisse de Shediac, dans le comté de Westmorland, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était le fils de Maximin et de Julie LeBlanc Melanson, tous deux d’ascendance acadienne.

Il a fréquenté l’école paroissiale de Shediac et s’est établi à Shediac, au Nouveau-Brunswick, où il s’est lancé en affaires comme marchand général. Il a créé la compagnie O.M. Melanson Company, Limited, une compagnie commerciale de premier plan à Shediac pendant bien des années. Il a été membre du conseil municipal de Shediac pendant de nombreuses années. Il a aussi été membre du conseil du comté de Westmorland.

Le 12 février 1878, il a épousé Marguerite Boudreau, fille de Jude Boudreau, de Cap-Pelé, et le couple a eu une famille nombreuse.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick aux élections générales du 20 janvier 1890 comme un des députés du comté de Westmorland, et il a siégé à l’Assemblée jusqu’à sa dissolution en 1892. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 22 octobre 1892 et il s’est retiré pendant plusieurs années de la politique active. Il a été réélu député aux élections générales du 18 février 1899 et il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution en 1903. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 28 février 1903 et du 3 mars 1908, mais il a été réélu à celles du 20 juin 1912 et il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée en 1917. Il a alors refusé de se porter candidat et a pris sa retraite.

À la session de 1914, il a été choisi vice-président de la Chambre pendant la maladie du président, l’hon. Walter B. Dickson. Il a été nommé président le 9 mars 1916, à la suite du décès de l’hon. M. Dickson.

M. Melanson est décédé le 7 juillet 1926 au Moncton City Hospital.

Voici comment le Daily Times du 8 juillet 1926 le décrit :

Il était reconnu comme étant un des Acadiens francophones de premier plan au Nouveau-Brunswick, mais il était aussi connu et très estimé dans le monde des affaires et de la politique dans l’ensemble du Dominion. [Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.