Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. D. Morrison

Donald Morrison was born November 27, 1852, at Burnt Church, Alnwick, Northumberland County, New Brunswick. He was the son of Alexander and Elizabeth Loggie Morrison. His parents were both of Scottish ancestry; his father was born in Scotland.

Donald Morrison moved to Newcastle as a young man and was educated at schools in Burnt Church, Alnwick and Chatham, New Brunswick. He located at Newcastle where he engaged in the mercantile business. He became a general merchant and established a large dry goods and furniture store. For some time he was managing director of the Newcastle Steamboat Company Ltd.

He was interested in civic affairs and served as alderman on the first board of the incorporated town of Newcastle. He also served as mayor of Newcastle for four successive terms. He was also Warden of Northumberland County at one time. He also served as a member of the board of trustees of Saint James Presbyterian Church. He was a prominent member of the Loyal Orange Order.

On December 11, 1878, he married Miss Elizabeth Jane Fish, daughter of James A. Fish, Newcastle. By this marriage there was a family of three sons and one daughter.

He unsuccessfully contested Northumberland County for the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick at the general elections of October 16, 1895 and February 18, 1899. He was first elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Northumberland County at the general election of February 28, 1903. He was re-elected at the general election of March 3, 1908, and sat one session of that Legislature when he resigned his seat in order to contest the federal election for the constituency of Northumberland in the House of Commons.

He contested Northumberland for the House of Commons in the general election of October 26, 1908, but was defeated by William Stewart Loggie. At the general election of September 11, 1911, he was again defeated by William Loggie.

At the opening of the session of the House of Assembly on April 30, 1908, he was chosen Speaker of the House and presided during that session which terminated May 30, 1908.

He died September 4, 1920 in the Miramichi Hospital, Newcastle, at the age of 67. He was buried in the St. James Presbyterian Cemetery, Newcastle, N.B. At the time of his death he held the position of Inspector of Fisheries for the counties of Northumberland, Gloucester, Kent and Westmorland.

His obituary in the Daily Times, Tuesday, September 7, 1920 describes Mr. Morrison: Always a staunch Conservative, he rendered great service to his party and took a leading part in many stirring debates in the House. By his fair and honest dealing he won the respect of all.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Donald Morrison

Donald Morrison est né le 27 novembre 1852 à Burnt Church, dans la paroisse d’Alnwick, dans le comté de Northumberland, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était le fils d’Alexander et d’Elizabeth Loggie Morrison. Ses parents étaient d’ascendance écossaise ; son père est né en Écosse.

Donald Morrison a déménagé à Newcastle quand il était jeune et a fréquenté des écoles à Burnt Church, dans la paroisse d’Alnwick, et à Chatham, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il s’est établi à Newcastle, où il a lancé une entreprise commerciale. En tant que marchand général, il a ouvert un grand magasin de mercerie et de meubles. Il a été pendant une certaine période administrateur délégué de la Newcastle Steamboat Company Ltd.

Il s’est intéressé aux affaires communautaires et a fait partie du premier conseil municipal de la ville constituée de Newcastle. Il a aussi été maire de Newcastle pendant quatre mandats consécutifs. Il a également été préfet du comté de Northumberland a un moment donné. Il a été membre du conseil de l’église presbytérienne Saint James. Il a été membre en vue du Loyal Orange Order.

Le 11 décembre 1878, il a épousé Elizabeth Jane Fish, fille de James A. Fish, de Newcastle. Le couple a eu trois fils et une fille.

Aux élections générales du 16 octobre 1895 et du 18 février 1899, il s’est porté candidat pour représenter le comté de Northumberland à l’Assemblée législative, mais a été battu. Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme un des députés du comté de Northumberland aux élections générales du 28 février 1903. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 3 mars 1908 et a siégé une session de la législature puis il a démissionné afin de se présenter aux élections fédérales pour représenter la circonscription de Northumberland à la Chambre des communes.

Il s’est présenté pour représenter la circonscription de Northumberland à la Chambre des communes lors des élections générales du 26 octobre 1908, mais a été battu par William Stewart Loggie. Aux élections générales du 11 septembre 1911, il a été battu de nouveau par William Loggie.

À l’ouverture de la session, le 30 avril 1908, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative et a rempli les fonctions de président pour la durée de la session qui s’est terminée le 30 mai 1908.

M. Morrison est décédé le 4 septembre 1920 à l’hôpital de Miramichi, à Newcastle, à l’âge de 67 ans. Il est enterré au cimetière presbytérien St. James, à Newcastle, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Au moment de sa mort, il occupait le poste d’inspecteur des pêches pour les comtés de Northumberland, de Gloucester, de Kent et de Westmorland.

La notice nécrologique publiée le mardi 7 septembre 1920 dans le Daily Times décrit M. Morrison comme suit :

Toujours un ardent défenseur du Parti conservateur, il a rendu de grands services à son parti et a joué un rôle de premier plan dans de nombreux débats mouvementés à la Chambre. Grâce à son comportement juste et honnête, il s’est attiré le respect de tous. [Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.