Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Joseph Leonard O'Brien

J. Leonard O'Brien was born November 6, 1895, at South Nelson, Northumberland County, New Brunswick, of Irish ancestry. He was the son of John O'Brien, who served in the New Brunswick Legislature, and Lavinia McPeake O'Brien of Fredericton, N.B.

He was educated at the local schools in South Nelson and graduated from St. Thomas University, Chatham, New Brunswick.

J. Leonard O'Brien located at South Nelson, New Brunswick, and became involved in the lumber business as a director of O'Brien Company Ltd. On September 18, 1947, he was married by His Eminence Cardinal McGuigan to Miss Kathleen O'Leary, daughter of Richard and Elizabeth Buckley O'Leary, of Richibucto, N.B. Mrs. O'Brien died in 1971.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Northumberland County at the general election of August 10, 1925, and sat during that parliament until its dissolution in 1930. At the general election of June 19, 1930, he was defeated.

On March 11, 1926, he was chosen Speaker of the House of Assembly and held that position until the dissolution in 1930.

First elected to the House of Commons as a member for Northumberland County at the general election of March 26, 1940, he sat during that parliament until its dissolution in 1945. At the general election of June 11, 1945, he was defeated and subsequently remained out of active politics. He was President of the New Brunswick Progressive Conservative Association from 1956 to 1957.

During the course of his career Mr. O'Brien was on the board of directors of both the Bank of Nova Scotia and Atlantic Sugar Refineries Ltd. He was active in the Mount Royal and St. James Clubs in Montreal. He was an honorary life member of the Miramichi Golf and Country Club of Bushville, N.B. He was a Knight of Grace of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem and a Knight Grand Cross of Magistral Grace, Order of Malta.

In 1958 St. Thomas University conferred on him an honorary doctor of laws degree and, in 1962, the University of New Brunswick conferred on him an honorary doctor of civil law degree.

For some time Hon. Mr. O'Brien was a member of the Senate of the University of New Brunswick.

On May 22, 1958 he was appointed Lieutenant Governor of New Brunswick, upon the death of Hon. David Laurence MacLaren. Hon. Mr. O'Brien retained this appointment until June 9, 1965, when he was succeeded by the Hon. John Babbitt McNair.

During the course of their lives, Hon. Mr. O'Brien and Mrs. O'Brien attended the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II; entertained Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip in Fredericton during their tour of New Brunswick; were guests at the wedding of Princess Margaret and Lord Snowdon; had a private audience at Buckingham Palace with Queen Elizabeth and, in 1961, they had a private audience with Pope John XXIII.

Hon. J. Leonard O'Brien died on June 18, 1973 and is buried in St. Patrick's Cemetery at Nelson-Miramichi, N.B.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L'hon. Joseph Leonard O'Brien

J. Leonard O’Brien est né le 6 novembre 1895 à South Nelson, dans le comté de Northumberland, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance irlandaise, il était le fils de John O’Brien, qui a été député à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, et de Lavinia McPeake O’Brien, de Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Il a fréquenté les écoles de South Nelson et il a obtenu un diplôme de St. Thomas University, à Chatham, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

J. Leonard O’Brien s’est établi à South Nelson, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et il a oeuvré dans l’industrie du bois à titre de directeur de O’Brien Company Limited. Le 18 septembre 1947, S.E. le cardinal McGuigan a célébré son mariage à Kathleen O’Leary, fille de Richard et d’Elizabeth Buckley O’Leary, de Richibucto, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Mme O’Brien est décédée en 1971.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme un des députés du comté de Northumberland aux élections générales du 10 août 1925 et il a siégé au cours de cette législature jusqu’à sa dissolution en 1930. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 19 juin 1930.

Le 11 mars 1926, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative et il a assumé la charge jusqu’à la dissolution en 1930.

Élu pour la première fois à la Chambre des communes comme député du comté de Northumberland aux élections générales du 26 mars 1940, il a siégé au cours de cette législature jusqu’à sa dissolution en 1945. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 11 juin 1945 et il s’est ensuite retiré de la politique active. Il a été président de l’association progressiste-conservatrice du Nouveau-Brunswick de 1956 à 1957.

Au cours de sa carrière, M. O’Brien a siégé au conseil d’administration de la Banque de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Atlantic Sugar Refineries Ltd. Il a été actif dans les clubs Mount Royal et Saint James, à Montréal. Il a été membre à vie honoraire du Miramichi Golf and Country Club, à Bushville, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était chevalier de grâce de l’Ordre de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem et chevalier grand-croix de grâce magistrale de l’Ordre de Malte.

En 1958, St. Thomas University lui a conféré un doctorat honorifique en droit et, en 1962, l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick lui a conféré un doctorat honorifique en droit civil.

M. O’Brien a été membre, pendant un certain temps, du sénat de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le 22 mai 1958, il a été nommé lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick à la suite du décès de l’hon. David Laurence MacLaren. M. O’Brien a assumé la charge jusqu’au 9 juin 1965, lorsque l’hon. John Babbitt McNair lui a succédé.

Au cours de leur vie, M. et Mme O’Brien ont assisté au couronnement de la reine Elizabeth II, ont reçu la reine Elizabeth et le prince Philip à Fredericton pendant leur visite au Nouveau-Brunswick, ont assisté au mariage de la princesse Margaret et de Lord Snowdon, ont eu une audience privée au palais de Buckingham avec la reine Elizabeth et, en 1961, ont eu une audience privée avec le pape Jean XXIII.

L’hon. J. Leonard O’Brien est décédé le 18 juin 1973 et il est enterré au cimetière St. Patrick, à Nelson-Miramichi, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.