Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. C.J. Osman

Charles Joseph Osman was born April 15, 1851 in London, England, of English ancestry. He was educated at the collegiate schools in Hertfordshire, England and went to work at the London Docks at a very early age.

He emigrated to New Brunswick and later settled in Hillsborough, Albert County, New Brunswick where he became president and manager of a plaster quarry and plaster milling firm.

He was a member of the Albert County Municipal Council Board for several years. He took an active interest in all public affairs and was an active supporter of the Anglican Church where he served as Warden.

In 1877 he married Miss Laura Esther Tompkins . By this marriage there was a family of one son and one daughter.

He unsuccessfully contested Albert County for the House of Assembly at the general election of January 20, 1890.

Charles Osman was first elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Albert County at a by-election held January 23, 1897, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of the sitting member Dr. William J. Lewis. He was re-elected at the general elections of February 18, 1899 and February 28, 1903, and sat as member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1908. At the general election of March 3, 1908, he was defeated and subsequently retired from active politics.

At the session of February 1897, he moved the address in reply to the Speech from the Throne. On March 6, 1907, he was elected Speaker of the House of Assembly when Hon. Clifford W. Robinson resigned to accept the position of Provincial Secretary. Mr. Osman held the position of Speaker until the dissolution of the Legislature.

He died, April 13, 1922, at his residence, Hillsborough, N.B., at the age of 71.

The Daily Times, April 15, 1922, described Hon. Charles Osman: "He was a Liberal in politics, but supported Union Government in 1917 during that critical period in the history of the Empire."

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Charles Joseph Osman

Charles Joseph Osman, d’ascendance anglaise, est né le 15 avril 1851 à Londres, en Angleterre. Il a fait ses études aux écoles collégiales du Hertfordshire, en Angleterre, et a travaillé très jeune sur les quais de Londres.

Il a immigré au Nouveau-Brunswick et s’est plus tard établi à Hillsborough, dans le comté d’Albert, au Nouveau-Brunswick, où il est devenu président et directeur d’une carrière de plâtre et d’une entreprise de broyage du plâtre.

Il a siégé au conseil municipal du comté d’Albert pendant plusieurs années. Il a manifesté un intérêt réel pour toutes les affaires publiques et a appuyé activement l’Église anglicane, où il a exercé les fonctions de marguillier.

En 1877, il a épousé Laura Esther Tompkins. De cette union sont nés un fils et une fille.

Aux élections générales du 20 janvier 1890, il s’est porté candidat pour représenter le comté d’Albert à l’Assemblée législative mais a été battu.

Charles Osman a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme un des députés du comté d’Albert lors d’une élection partielle tenue le 23 janvier 1897, à la suite de la démission du député William J. Lewis. Réélu aux élections générales du 18 février 1899 et du 28 février 1903, il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée en 1908. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 3 mars 1908 et a ensuite quitté la vie politique active.

Au cours de la session de février 1897, il a été motionnaire de l’adresse en réponse au discours du trône. Le 6 mars 1907, il a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative, succédant à l’hon. Clifford W. Robinson, qui a démissionné pour accepter la charge de secrétaire provincial. M. Osman a occupé la présidence jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative.

Il est décédé le 13 avril 1922 à sa résidence de Hillsborough, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l’âge de 71 ans.

Le Daily Times du 15 avril 1922 a décrit ainsi l’hon. Charles Osman : Il était libéral en politique mais il a appuyé le gouvernement unioniste en 1917, au cours de cette période cruciale de l’histoire de l’Empire.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.