Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Harry Peters

Harry Peters was born in 1789 at Gagetown, Queens County, New Brunswick. He was the son of James and Margaret Lester Peters, both Loyalists of Hampstead, New York, who came to New Brunswick at the close of the Revolutionary War and settled at Gagetown, Queens County.

Harry Peters located at Gagetown, New Brunswick, and engaged in farming. He then moved to Saint John where for many years he was a merchant. First elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Saint John City at the general election of September 1816, he was re-elected at the general elections of October 1819 and June 1820. At the general election of June 1827, he was elected as one of the members for Queens County. He was elected Speaker of the House of Assembly on January 19, 1826. He sat as a member until 1828 when he was appointed to His Majesty's Council for New Brunswick. He continued as a member of His Majesty's Council until 1832 when it was abolished and the Legislative Council was constituted. He was appointed a member of the newly constituted Legislative Council and continued as a member of that body until April 5, 1843, when he resigned.

In 1856 he was appointed Registrar of Deeds and Wills for Queens County upon the death of Henry S. Peters and retained that position until his death. He died on March l, 1871, at his residence in Gagetown.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Harry Peters

Harry Peters est né en 1789 à Gagetown, dans le comté de Queens, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était le fils de James et de Margaret Lester Peters, tous deux loyalistes de Hampstead, dans l’État de New York, qui sont venus au Nouveau-Brunswick à la fin de la guerre de Sécession et se sont établis à Gagetown, dans le comté de Queens.

Harry Peters s’est établi à Gagetown, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et s’est livré à l’agriculture. Il a ensuite déménagé à Saint John, où il a été commerçant pendant bien des années. Élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme l’un des députés de Saint John aux élections générales de septembre 1816, il a été réélu aux élections générales d’octobre 1819 et de juin 1820. Aux élections générales de juin 1827, il a été élu comme un des députés du comté de Queens. Il a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative le 19 janvier 1826. Il a siégé comme député jusqu’en 1828, année de sa nomination au Conseil de Sa Majesté pour le Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est demeuré membre du Conseil de Sa Majesté jusqu’en 1832, année de l’abolition du conseil et de la constitution du Conseil législatif. Il a été nommé membre de ce dernier et y a siégé jusqu’à sa démission le 5 avril 1843.

En 1856, après la mort de Henry S. Peters, il a été nommé conservateur des titres de propriété et des testaments pour le comté de Queens, poste qu’il a occupé jusqu’à sa mort. Il est décédé le 1er mars 1871 à sa résidence de Gagetown.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.