Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. W. Pugsley

William Pugsley was born on September 27, 1850, at Sussex, Kings County, N.B. of Loyalist ancestry, the son of William and Janet Hayward Pugsley.

Educated at the Sussex grammar school and at the University of New Brunswick, he proved to be an able scholar winning several scholarships and the Alumni Gold Medal. He graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1868.

He studied law and was admitted to the bar of New Brunswick as attorney June 22, 1871, and as a barrister, June 27, 1872. He located at Saint John, New Brunswick, and practiced law.

At one time he was the owner- manager of The Daily Telegraph and The St. John Evening Times newspapers. For ten years he was reporter and editor of the decisions of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick. He received the degree of B.C.L. from the University of New Brunswick in 1879. The same university conferred on him the honorary degrees of D.C.L. in 1884 and L.L.D. in 1918. He was created a Q.C. February 4, 1891.

On January 6, 1876, he married Miss Fannie J. Parks. They had three sons. Mrs. Pugsley died in May 1914. He married Miss Gertrude Macdonald in 1915.

First elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick to represent Kings County at the by-election held July 4, 1885, he was re-elected at the general election of April 26, 1886; at the by-election held May 25, 1889 made necessary by his acceptance of a Portfolio, and at the general election of January 12, 1890. He sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1892 when he retired in order to devote more time to his extensive legal practice.

He unsuccessfully contested the constituency of Saint John City as an Independent for the House of Commons at the general election of June 22, 1896. He was again elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as one of the members for Kings County at the general election of February 18, 1899; he was re-elected at the by-election, September 27, 1900 made necessary by his acceptance of a portfolio. Re-elected in the general election of February 28, 1903, he sat as a member until he resigned in 1907 in order to enter federa1 politics again.

On March 3, 1887, he was elected Speaker of the House of Assembly of New Brunswick and held this position until May 14, l 889 when he was appointed to the Executive Council and named Solicitor General in the Blair administration. He held this appointment until his resignation and retirement from the House in 1892. On September l, 1900, he was appointed Attorney General in the Tweedie administration. On March 6, 1907, he succeeded the Hon. Mr. Tweedie as Premier of New Brunswick assuming the position of Attorney General and Provincial Secretary Treasurer as well. He resigned as Premier and Attorney General May 31, 1907.

In 1907 he was elected to the House of Commons and subsequently appointed Minister of Public Works in Laurier's administration. He held this post until the defeat of the government in 1911. Re-elected in the elections of 1908 and 1911, he held his seat until he retired in 1917.

Appointed Lieutenant Governor of New Brunswick on November 6, 1917, he held this appointment until February 28, 1923. He was subsequently appointed Commissioner for the settlement of War Claims in Ottawa, Ontario, and acted in this capacity until his death March 3, 1925 in Toronto, Ontario.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. William Pugsley

William Pugsley est né le 27 septembre 1850 à Sussex, dans le comté de Kings, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance loyaliste, il était le fils de William et de Janet Hayward Pugsley.

Il a fréquenté la Sussex Grammar School et l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et il s’est révélé un excellent étudiant, remportant plusieurs bourses et la médaille d’or des étudiants diplômés. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en 1868.

Il a étudié le droit et a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat le 22 juin 1871 et comme avocat plaidant le 27 juin 1872. Il s’est établi à Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et il a exercé le droit.

Il a été, à un moment donné, propriétaire et directeur des journaux The Daily Telegraph et The St. John Evening Times. Pendant 10 ans, il a été sténographe et rédacteur des jugements de la Cour suprême du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a reçu en 1879 un baccalauréat en droit civil de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. La même université lui a conféré des doctorats honorifiques en droit civil, en 1884, et en droit, en 1918. Il a été nommé conseiller de la reine le 4 février 1891.

Le 6 janvier 1876, il a épousé Fannie J. Parks. De cette union sont nés trois fils. Mme Pugsley est décédée en mai 1914. Il a épousé Gertrude Macdonald en 1915.

Élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick comme député du comté de Kings à une élection partielle tenue le 4 juillet 1885, il a été réélu aux élections générales du 26 avril 1886, à l’élection partielle du 25 mai 1889, tenue à la suite de son acceptation d’un portefeuille, et aux élections générales du 12 janvier 1890. Il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1892, lorsqu’il a pris sa retraite pour consacrer plus de temps à son important cabinet d’avocat.

Il s’est présenté comme indépendant dans la circonscription de la grande ville de Saint John aux élections générales du 22 juin 1896, mais il a été battu. Il a été réélu à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick comme un des députés du comté de Kings aux élections générales du 18 février 1899. Il a été réélu à l’élection partielle du 27 septembre 1900, tenue à la suite de son acceptation d’un portefeuille. Réélu aux élections générales du 28 février 1903, il a siégé jusqu’à sa démission en 1907, pour entrer à nouveau sur la scène politique fédérale.

Le 3 mars 1887, il a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick et il a occupé la charge jusqu’au 14 mai 1889, date où il a été nommé au Conseil exécutif et est devenu solliciteur général dans le gouvernement Blair. Il a occupé le poste jusqu’à sa démission et sa retraite de la Chambre en 1892. Le 1er septembre 1900, il a été nommé procureur général dans le gouvernement Tweedie. Le 6 mars 1907, il est devenu premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick, succédant à l’hon. M. Tweedie, et il a aussi occupé les postes de procureur général et de secrétaire-trésorier de la province. Il a démissionné des postes de premier ministre et de procureur général le 31 mai 1907.

En 1907, il a été élu à la Chambre des communes et a ensuite été nommé ministre des Travaux publics dans le gouvernement Laurier. Il a occupé ce poste jusqu’à la défaite du gouvernement en 1911. Réélu aux élections de 1908 et de 1911, il a siégé jusqu’à sa retraite en 1917.

Nommé lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick le 6 novembre 1917, il a occupé la charge jusqu’au 28 février 1923. Il a ensuite été nommé commissaire pour le règlement des réclamations de guerre, à Ottawa, en Ontario, et il a occupé le poste jusqu’à sa mort, le 3 mars 1925, à Toronto, en Ontario.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.