Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. C.W. Robinson

Clifford W. Robinson was born September 1, 1866 at Moncton, Westmorland County, New Brunswick. Of English ancestry, he was the second son of William J. and his wife Margaret Trenholm Robinson. He was educated at the Moncton public school, Mount Allison Academy and Mount Allison University where he received the degree of B.A. in 1886. He studied law in the offices of C.A. Steeves and A.L. Robinson, Moncton, as well as Hannington & Wilson in Saint John. He was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as attorney on October 13, 1892, and as barrister in October 1893. He located at Moncton where he established a high reputation as a corporation, real estate and financial consultant.

On October 2, 1890, he married Annie M. Hinson of Hertfordshire, England. She died May 25, 1929. On June 12, 1933, he married Mrs. Jane A. Harris Peters.

For a number of years Mr. Robinson engaged in the lumber, manufacturing and shipping industries. He served on the Moncton City Council as alderman during 1895-96 and as Mayor in 1897 having been elected by acclamation. He was a member of the Board of Regents of Mount Allison University, a member of Prince Albert Lodge, I.O.O.F., and of other social and church organizations. He was president and director of the Moncton Transcript Ltd, the New Brunswick Wire Fence Co. Ltd., and a director of the Eastern Trust Company.

He unsuccessfully contested Westmorland County for the House of Commons at the general election of 1896.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly by acclamation as a member for Westmorland County at the by-election of May 29, 1897, to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Mr. A.E. Killam. He was re-elected at the general elections of February 18, 1899; February 28, 1903; the by-election of April 30, 1907, on his acceptance of a portfolio, and at the general election of March 3, 1908. He sat continuously until the dissolution of 1912 when he retired and for several years was out of active politics. He re-entered politics and at the general election of February 24, 1917 was returned to the House of Assembly as a member for the City of Moncton; re-elected at the general election of October 9, 1920, he sat until May 5, 1924, when he was appointed to the Senate.

He was Speaker of the House of Assembly from February 28, 1901 until the dissolution in 1903. Re-elected Speaker on March 26, 1903, he retained the position until March 6, 1907 when he resigned and became a member of the Executive Council and Minister Without Portfolio in the administration of the Hon. William Pugsley. On April 15, 1907, he accepted the portfolio of Provincial Secretary, and on May 31 of the same year he succeeded Hon. Mr. Pugsley as Premier of New Brunswick assuming temporarily the portfolio of Attorney General, which he held until October 28, 1907, when he resigned it, while retaining his other Cabinet positions. His government being defeated at the polls in the general election of March 3, 1908, he resigned with his Cabinet March 20, 1908, and sat in the House as Leader of the Opposition until the dissolution of 1912 when he retired. On April 4, 1917, he entered the Cabinet of the Hon. W. E. Foster as Minister Without Portfolio and in 1920, upon the reorganization of the Cabinet, he accepted the portfolio of Lands and Mines, which he held until he resigned when he was elevated to the Senate.

On May 5, 1924, he was called to the Senate of Canada. He retained his senate seat until his death. Mr. Robinson died July 27, 1944 at Montreal, P.Q.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Clifford William Robinson

Clifford W. Robinson est né le 1er septembre 1866 à Moncton, dans le comté de Westmorland, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance anglaise, il était le deuxième fils de William J. et de Margaret Trenholm Robinson. Il a fréquenté l’école publique de Moncton, la Mount Allison Academy et la Mount Allison University, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en 1886. Il a étudié le droit dans les cabinets de C.A. Steeves et d’A.L. Robinson, à Moncton, ainsi que de Hanington et de Wilson, à Saint John. Il a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat le 13 octobre 1892 et comme avocat plaidant en octobre 1893. Il s’est établi à Moncton, où il a acquis une solide réputation d’expert-conseil en matière de sociétés, d’immobilier et de finances.

Le 2 octobre 1890, il a épousé Annie M. Hinson, du Hertfordshire, en Angleterre. Elle est décédée le 25 mai 1929. Le 12 juin 1933, il a épousé Jane A. Harris Peters.

Pendant un certain nombre d’années, M. Robinson a oeuvré dans les industries du bois, de la fabrication et de la navigation. Il a été conseiller municipal de Moncton en 1895-1896 et maire en 1897, après avoir été élu sans concurrent. Il a siégé au conseil d’administration de la Mount Allison University et a été membre de la loge Prince Albert de l’Independent Order of Odd Fellows ainsi que d’autres organisations sociales et religieuses. Il a été président et administrateur du Moncton Transcript et de la New Brunswick Wire Fence Co. Ltd. ainsi qu’administrateur de la Eastern Trust Company.

Aux élections générales fédérales de 1896, il s’est porté candidat dans le comté de Westmorland mais a été battu.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative sans concurrent, comme député du comté de Westmorland, lors de l’élection partielle du 29 mai 1897 tenue à la suite de la démission de A.E. Killam. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 18 février 1899 et du 28 février 1903, à l’élection partielle du 30 avril 1907, à la suite de son acceptation d’un portefeuille, et aux élections générales du 3 mars 1908. Il a siégé sans interruption jusqu’à la dissolution en 1912 ; il s’est alors retiré pendant plusieurs années de la politique active. Il est revenu à la politique et a été élu à l’Assemblée législative aux élections générales du 24 février 1917 comme député de la ville de Moncton. Réélu aux élections générales du 9 octobre 1920, il a siégé jusqu’au 5 mai 1924, date de sa nomination au Sénat.

Il a été président de l’Assemblée législative du 28 février 1901 jusqu’à la dissolution en 1903. Réélu président le 26 mars 1903, il a occupé la charge jusqu’à sa démission le 6 mars 1907 ; il est alors devenu membre du Conseil exécutif et ministre sans portefeuille du gouvernement de l’hon. William Pugsley. Le 15 avril 1907, il a accepté le portefeuille de secrétaire provincial et, le 31 mai de la même année, il a succédé à l’hon. M. Pugsley à titre de premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a assumé temporairement le portefeuille de procureur général, qu’il a détenu jusqu’au 28 octobre 1907, date à laquelle il y a renoncé, tout en conservant ses autres postes au Cabinet. Après la défaite de son gouvernement aux élections générales du 3 mars 1908, il a démissionné avec son Cabinet le 20 mars 1908 et a siégé à la Chambre comme chef de l’opposition jusqu’à la dissolution en 1912 ; il a alors pris sa retraite. Le 4 avril 1917, il a intégré le Cabinet de l’hon. W.E. Foster comme ministre sans portefeuille et, lors du remaniement ministériel en 1920, il a accepté le portefeuille des Terres et des Mines, qu’il a détenu jusqu’à sa démission à la suite de sa nomination au Sénat.

Le 5 mai 1924, il a été nommé au Sénat du Canada et y a siégé jusqu’à sa mort. M. Robinson est décédé le 27 juillet 1944 à Montréal, au Québec.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.