Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. John Robinson

John Robinson was born July 15, 1761 at Highlands on the Hudson River, New York, in the house which later became Gen. Washington's headquarters. A Loyalist of Colonial English ancestry, he was the son of Col. Beverley Robinson, prominent Loyalist officer and member of His Majesty's Council, and his wife, Susanna Philipse. Until compelled to leave the colonies as a loyal subject of King George III, Col. Beverley Robinson was a contemporary and a personal friend of George Washington. John Robinson was a grandson of Hon. John Robinson, President of the colony of Virginia.

Educated at the public school and by private tutors, at the outbreak of the Revolutionary War, he enlisted in the Loyal American Regiment raised and commanded by his father, Col. Beverley Robinson. He was gazetted Ensign November 15, 1777, and promoted to Lieutenant in June 1781. He served with distinction throughout the war and was present at the Battle of Kings Mountain. He was actively engaged until the evacuation of New York in 1783.

At the close of the war he came with his regiment to Nova Scotia. Very soon after his arrival in New Brunswick, John Robinson became the first Sheriff of Queens County. He retained this position for a brief period until he moved to Saint John where he located permanently. He established a mercantile business and became one of the influential citizens of the city. For some time he held the position of Paymaster of the Forces.

At the first meeting of the stockholders of the first chartered bank, the Bank of New Brunswick, held at the Coffee House in Saint John, June 12, 1820, he was elected a director. Shortly after, he was chosen first president. He was mayor of Saint John from 1816 until his death in 1828.

On Nov. 16, 1787 he married Miss Elizabeth Ludlow, daughter of the Hon. George Duncan Ludlow, the first Chief Justice of the province of New Brunswick. By this marriage there was a family of five sons and two daughters. Mrs. Robinson died in Paris, France in 1823 at the age of 56.

John Robinson was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as one of the members for Saint John City at the general election of October 1802, and sat in that Legislature until its dissolution in 1809. He did not seek re-election but was again elected to the House of Assembly at a by-election held November 7, 1810 to fill the vacancy created by the death of the sitting member, John Garrison. Mr. Robinson sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1816 when he retired from active politics.

On January 13, 1813, he was chosen Speaker of the House of Assembly, following the death of the Hon. Amos Botsford. John Robinson held that position until his retirement from the House in 1816.

On March 10, 1816, he was appointed Treasurer of the Province of New Brunswick and on May 6, 1818, he was appointed to His Majesty's Council of New Brunswick by Governor George Stracy Smyth. He continued as a member of that Council until his death.

He died on October 8, 1828 at his residence in Saint John. His obituary in the Weekly Observer describes Hon. Mr. Robinson:

In all the various situations of public life which Mr. Robinson has successively filled, he has been uniformly distinguished by the same undeviating rectitude of principle, enlightened intelligence, and liberality of conduct...

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. John Robinson

John Robinson est né le 15 juillet 1761 à Highlands, en bordure du fleuve Hudson, dans l’État de New York. La maison où il a vu le jour a servi plus tard de quartier général au général Washington. Loyaliste d’ascendance coloniale anglaise, il était le fils du colonel Beverley Robinson, officier loyaliste bien en vue et membre du Conseil de Sa Majesté, et de Susanna Philipse. Le colonel Beverley Robinson avait été un contemporain et ami personnel de George Washington jusqu’à ce qu’il soit contraint de quitter les colonies, en tant que sujet loyal du roi George III. John Robinson était le petit-fils de l’hon. John Robinson, président de l’assemblée de Virginie, alors une colonie.

Il a étudié à l’école publique et avec des tuteurs privés. La guerre de la révolution ayant éclatée, il s’est engagé dans le Loyal American Regiment que son père, le colonel Beverley Robinson, avait mis sur pied et commandait. Sa nomination comme porte-étendard a été publiée le 15 novembre 1777 dans la gazette officielle, et il a été promu lieutenant en juin 1781. Il s’est distingué tout au long de la guerre et a participé à la bataille de Kings Mountain. Il a participé activement à la guerre jusqu’à l’évacuation de New York en 1783.

À la fin de la guerre, il s’est rendu en Nouvelle-Écosse avec son régiment. Très peu de temps après son arrivée au Nouveau-Brunswick, John Robinson est devenu le premier shérif du comté de Queens. Il a occupé le poste pendant une courte période, jusqu’à ce qu’il déménage à Saint John, où il s’est établi en permanence. Il a ouvert une entreprise commerciale et est devenu une personne influente de la ville. Il a exercé pendant un certain temps les fonctions de responsable de la paie auprès des forces armées.

Le 12 juin 1820, il a été élu au conseil d’administration de la première banque à charte, la Banque du Nouveau-Brunswick, lors de la première réunion de ses actionnaires, qui a eu lieu au Coffee House, à Saint John. Peu après, il a été choisi premier président de la banque. Il a été maire de Saint John de 1816 jusqu’à sa mort en 1828.

Le 16 novembre 1787, il a épousé Elizabeth Ludlow, fille de l’hon. George Duncan Ludlow, premier juge en chef du Nouveau-Brunswick. Le couple a eu cinq fils et deux filles. Mme Robinson est décédée en 1823 à Paris, en France, à l’âge de 56 ans.

John Robinson a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, comme l’un des députés de Saint John, aux élections générales d’octobre 1802. Il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée en 1809, mais ne s’est pas représenté comme candidat. Toutefois, il a été réélu à l’Assemblée législative lors d’une élection partielle tenue le 7 novembre 1810 pour pourvoir la vacance qu’a entraîné le décès de John Garrison. M. Robinson a siégé comme parlementaire jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1816. Il s’est alors retiré de la politique active.

Le 13 janvier 1813, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative, à la suite du décès de l’hon. Amos Botsford. John Robinson a assumé cette charge jusqu’à sa retraite en 1816.

Le 10 mars 1816, il a été nommé trésorier de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick et, le 6 mai 1818, il a été nommé par le gouverneur George Stracy Smyth au Conseil de Sa Majesté pour le Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a continué de siéger au conseil jusqu’à sa mort.

Il est décédé chez lui, à Saint John, le 8 octobre 1828. La notice nécrologique publiée dans le Weekly Observer décrit l’hon. M. Robinson comme suit :

Dans tous les divers postes de la vie publique que M. Robinson a successivement occupés, il a constamment fait montre de la même inaltérable fidélité à ses principes, de la même intelligence éclairée et du même libéralisme dans sa conduite [Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.