Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Charles Simonds

Charles Simonds was born on August 22, 1783 at Portland Point, Saint John, New Brunswick. He was of Colonial English, pre-Loyalist ancestry, the son of James and Hannah Peabody Simonds.

He was educated at the Portland Public School and by private tutors. He located at Saint John and engaged in the commercial enterprises established and conducted by his father. Here he became a leader in commercial, financial and political affairs of his day.

Charles Simonds first married on May 27, 1817, Miss Catherine Mary Longmuir, daughter of Capt. Richard Longmuir. She died March 2, 1820, aged 21 years. They had no children. He remarried on July 31, 1824 to Miss Lucy Ann Clopper, daughter of Garrett Clopper. She died July 6, 1832, aged 27. They had a family of three sons and one daughter.

At the general election of October, 1819, his name was placed in nomination as a candidate for Saint John County but he withdrew before polling took place. He was first elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Saint John County and City at the general election of June 1820. Re-elected at the general elections of June 1827, October 1830, December 1834, September 1837 and December 1842, he sat continuously as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1846.

He did not offer for re-election at the general election of that year but accepted a seat on the Legislative Council of New Brunswick and sat in that body until 1850, when he resigned in order to contest Saint John County again for the House of Assembly.

Again elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Saint John County and City at the general election of June 20, 1850, he sat as member until October, 1851, when he resigned his seat. Elected again at the general election of June 24, 1856, he sat two sessions of the Legislature until its dissolution in 1857. At the general election of April 23, 1857, he was defeated and subsequently retired from active political life.

On December 11, 1828 he was chosen Speaker of the House of Assembly when his brother, Hon. Richard Simonds, resigned. He was Speaker until 1830. He was again appointed Speaker on January 20, 1835 and on December 28, 1837 to 1842; on February 6, 1851, and again on July 17, 1856.

On August 15, 1837, he was called to a seat on the Executive Council where he continued as a member until February 1, 1846, when he resigned. From time to time during this period he was Government Leader in the House of Assembly. In the struggle for responsible government, he at first cautiously favoured it, but later gave it his wholehearted support, until its final culmination in 1854.

He died on April 12, 1859, at the residence of his son, Henry G. Simonds, in Saint John.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985.1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Charles Simonds

Charles Simonds est né le 22 août 1783 à Portland Point, à Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance coloniale anglaise préloyaliste, il était le fils de James et de Hannah Peabody Simonds.

Il a étudié à l’école publique de Portland et avec des tuteurs privés. Il s’est établi à Saint John et a travaillé dans les entreprises commerciales établies et dirigées par son père. C’est dans cette ville qu’il est devenu un chef de file sur la scène commerciale, financière et politique de son époque.

Charles Simonds a d’abord épousé le 27 mai 1817 Catherine Mary Longmuir, fille du capitaine Richard Longmuir. Elle est décédée le 2 mars 1820, à l’âge de 21 ans. Ils n’ont pas eu d’enfants. Il s’est remarié le 31 juillet 1824 avec Lucy Ann Clopper, fille de Garrett Clopper. Elle est décédée le 6 juillet 1832, à l’âge de 27 ans. De cette union sont nés trois fils et une fille.

Aux élections générales d’octobre 1819, il a été porté candidat pour le comté de Saint John, mais il s’est retiré avant le vote. Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme un des députés du comté et de la ville de Saint John aux élections générales de juin 1820. Réélu aux élections générales de juin 1827, d’octobre 1830, de décembre 1834, de septembre 1837 et de décembre 1842, il a siégé sans interruption comme député jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1846.

Il ne s’est pas représenté aux élections générales de cette année-là mais a accepté un siège au Conseil législatif du Nouveau-Brunswick et y a siégé jusqu’en 1850, année où il a démissionné afin de briguer à nouveau les suffrages dans le comté de Saint John pour revenir à l’Assemblée législative.

Élu de nouveau à l’Assemblée législative comme un des députés du comté et de la ville de Saint John aux élections générales du 20 juin 1850, il y a siégé jusqu’à sa démission en octobre 1851. Élu à nouveau aux élections générales du 24 juin 1856, il a siégé pendant deux sessions jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1857. Il a été battu aux élections générales du 23 avril 1857 et s’est ensuite retiré de la vie politique active.

Le 11 décembre 1828, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative, après la démission de son frère, l’hon. Richard Simonds. Il a été président jusqu’en 1830. Il a de nouveau été nommé président le 20 janvier 1835 et le 28 décembre 1837. Il a occupé le poste jusqu’en 1842 et y a été nommé de nouveau le 6 février 1851 et, encore une fois, le 17 juillet 1856.

Le 15 août 1837, il a été nommé au Conseil exécutif, où il a siégé jusqu’à sa démission le 1er février 1846. Au cours de cette période, il a occasionnellement exercé les fonctions de leader parlementaire du gouvernement à l’Assemblée législative. Durant la lutte pour obtenir un gouvernement responsable, il a d’abord appuyé avec circonspection le concept mais y a accordé plus tard son soutien sans réserve, jusqu’à l’aboutissement des efforts en 1854.

Il est décédé le 12 avril 1859 à la résidence de son fils Henry G. Simonds, à Saint John.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.