Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. F.C. Squires

Frederick Charles Squires was born November 13, 1881, at Bath, Carleton County, New Brunswick, of English-Loyalist ancestry. He was the son of Robert and Elizabeth Turner Squires.

He was educated at the public schools, the Provincial Normal School, and the University of New Brunswick where he received the degree of B.A. in 1906. While attending the University of New Brunswick, Mr. Squires established an enviable record both as student and athlete. He was selected as outstanding athlete and won the all-round athletic belt for three consecutive years.

Mr. Squires, who taught school for many years, served as principal of both the Florenceville Consolidated and Woodstock High Schools. He later studied law at Harvard University, Boston, Massachusetts, and graduated with the degree of LL.B. He was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as attorney, November 16, 1916, and as barrister, November 29, 1917.

Frederick Squires located at Woodstock, New Brunswick, and successfully engaged in the practice of his profession. He was created King's Counsel in 1947. During his lengthy career at the Bar, Mr. Squires established a fine reputation as a defence counsel in criminal cases.

He took an active interest in fraternal affairs and was a member of the Masonic Order and the Knights of Pythias. He was past provincial grand master of the New Brunswick Orange Lodge and a former member of the Rotary Club of Woodstock .

On September 2, 1912, he married Miss Hattie Duncan Pierce. They had a family of one son and one daughter.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly as one of the members for Carleton County at the general election of August 10, 1925. He was reelected at the general election of June 9, 1930. On June 27, 1935, he was elected Progressive Conservative representative for Carleton County. He was successful in general elections held November 20, 1939; and August 28, 1944. He sat continuously as a member until the dissolution of the House in 1948.

At the general election of June 28, 1948, he was defeated and subsequently retired from active political life to devote his time to private practice.

At the session of 1926, he was chosen Deputy Speaker of the House and on February 12, 1931, he was chosen Speaker of the House, a position he held until 1935.

On March 5, 1936, he was chosen House Leader of the Conservative Opposition, and later was appointed Leader of the Conservative Party in New Brunswick.

Following the general election of 1939, ill health forced Mr. Squires to resign as Leader of the Conservative Party.

In 1953 he was appointed Clerk of the Legislature and Law Clerk, and he held these positions until his resignation in 1959.

He died December 16, 1960, at Victoria Public Hospital, Fredericton, N.B., at the age of 79 years.

The Telegraph Journal of December 17, 1960 describes Mr. Squires:

He was appointed Speaker of the House ... and established a reputation as one of the leading experts on parliamentary procedure in New Brunswick.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Frederick Charles Squires

Frederick Charles Squires est né le 13 novembre 1881 à Bath, dans le comté de Carleton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance loyaliste anglaise, il était le fils de Robert et d’Elizabeth Turner Squires.

Il a fréquenté les écoles publiques, l’école normale provinciale et l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en 1906. Au cours de ses études à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, M. Squires s’est taillé une réputation enviable comme étudiant et comme athlète. Il a été choisi comme athlète exceptionnel et a remporté trois années de suite la ceinture d’athlétisme toutes catégories.

Enseignant pendant bien des années, M. Squires a été directeur de la Florenceville Consolidated School et de la Woodstock High School. Il a étudié plus tard à la Harvard University à Boston, au Massachusetts, et a obtenu un baccalauréat en droit. Il a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat le 16 novembre 1916 et comme avocat plaidant le 29 novembre 1917.

Frederick Squires s’est établi à Woodstock, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et s’est livré avec succès à l’exercice de sa profession. Il a été nommé conseiller du roi en 1947. Au cours de sa longue carrière au Barreau, M. Squires a acquis une excellente réputation comme avocat de la défense dans les causes criminelles.

Il s’est activement intéressé aux confréries et a été membre de l’ordre maçonnique et des Knights of Pythias. Il a été grand maître provincial de l’Orange Lodge of New Brunswick et membre du Rotary Club of Woodstock.

Le 2 septembre 1912, il a épousé Hattie Duncan Pierce. De cette union sont nés un fils et une fille.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme un des députés du comté de Carleton aux élections générales du 10 août 1925. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 9 juin 1930. Le 27 juin 1935, il a été élu député progressiste-conservateur du comté de Carleton. Réélu aux élections générales du 20 novembre 1939 et du 28 août 1944, il a siégé sans interruption jusqu’à la dissolution de la Chambre en 1948.

Il a été battu aux élections générales du 28 juin 1948 et s’est ensuite retiré de la vie politique active pour consacrer son temps à la pratique privé.

Au cours de la session de 1926, il a été choisi vice-président de la Chambre et, le 12 février 1931, il a été choisi président de la Chambre, charge qu’il a occupée jusqu’à 1935.

Le 5 mars 1936, il a été choisi leader parlementaire de l’opposition conservatrice et a plus tard été nommé chef du Parti conservateur du Nouveau-Brunswick.

À la suite des élections générales de 1939, M. Squires a dû démissionner pour des raisons de santé de son poste de chef du Parti conservateur.

En 1953, il a été nommé greffier de l’Assemblée législative et légiste, postes qu’il a occupés jusqu’à sa démission en 1959.

Il est décédé le 16 décembre 1960 au Victoria Public Hospital à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l’âge de 79 ans.

Le Telegraph Journal du 17 décembre 1960 a décrit M. Squires en ces termes :

Il a été nommé président de la Chambre […] et a acquis la réputation d’être un expert de premier plan au Nouveau-Brunswick en matière de procédure parlementaire. [Traduction.]

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.