Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. B.R. Stevenson

Benjamin Robert Stevenson was born April 10, 1835, at Saint Andrews, Charlotte County, New Brunswick, of Scottish ancestry. He was the son of Robert Stevenson and his wife, Christine G. Milliken. His grandfather, Robert Stevenson, came to Saint Andrews from Renfrewshire, Scotland, in 1819.

He was educated at the Saint Andrews grammar school and at the University of New Brunswick where he received the degree of B.A. in 1854. He studied law and was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as an attorney June 16, 1859, and as a barrister June 14, 1860.

Benjamin Stevenson located at Saint Andrews, Charlotte County, and successfully engaged in the practice of his profession. He was appointed a Judge of Probates for Charlotte County but resigned in 1867 in order to enter active politics.

He was a member of A.F. & A.M and served as a school trustee. He rose to the rank of major in the militia where he was in active service for three months at the time of the Fenian raid of 1866.

In August, 1866, he married Miss Kate Bolton, daughter of John Bolton, Sr., of Alnwick, England. By this marriage there was a family of one son and one daughter.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick to represent Charlotte County at a by-election held October 10, 1867 to fill the vacancies created by the resignation of the sitting members, James Watson Chandler and James Gray Stevens, with Henry Frye as colleague.

He was re-elected at the general election held July 5, 1870, and at the by-election held March 16, 1871, made necessary by his acceptance of office; at the general election of June 13, 1874, on the issue of Free Non-sectarian Schools, which he favoured; and at the general election of June 13, 1878. He sat as a member until 1882, when he resigned to enter federal politics.

On February 22, 1871, he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the appointment of Surveyor General in the administration of the Hon. George L. Hatheway. He held this portfolio in the administration of the Hon. George E. King until 1878 when he resigned. While he held the office of Surveyor General, he carried the Free Grants Act as well as several Acts relevant to the internal economy of the Crown Lands Department. On the formation of the administration of the Hon. John James Fraser, he was appointed Minister Without Portfolio, and held this position until January 1879, when he resigned from the administration.

On February 27, 1879, he was chosen Speaker of the House of Assembly and held this position until 1882.

He unsuccessfully contested the constituency of Charlotte for the House of Commons at the general election of June 20, 1882, being defeated by Arthur Hill Gilmor. He was subsequently appointed Judge of Probate for Charlotte County and held that office until his death.

He died January 16, 1890, at his residence, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Benjamin Robert Stevenson

Benjamin Robert Stevenson est né le 10 avril 1835 à Saint Andrews, dans le comté de Charlotte, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance écossaise, il était le fils de Robert Stevenson et de Christiane G. Milliken. Son grand-père, Robert Stevenson, a quitté Renfrewshire, en Écosse, en 1819 pour venir s’établir à Saint Andrews.

Il a fréquenté la Saint Andrews Grammar School et l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en 1854. Il a étudié le droit et il a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat le 16 juin 1859 et comme avocat plaidant le 14 juin 1860.

Benjamin Stevenson s’est établi à Saint Andrews, dans le comté de Charlotte, et a exercé avec succès sa profession. Il a été nommé juge des successions dans le comté de Charlotte, mais il a démissionné en 1867 afin d’entrer sur la scène politique.

Il a été membre des Ancients Free & Accepted Masons et conseiller scolaire. Il a accédé au rang de major dans la milice, où il a été en service actif pendant trois mois à l’époque du raid des Fenians de 1866.

En août 1866, il a épousé Kate Bolton, fille de John Bolton, père, d’Alnwick, en Angleterre. De cette union sont nés un fils et une fille.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick pour représenter le comté de Charlotte lors d’une élection partielle tenue le 10 octobre 1867, à la suite de la démission des députés James Watson Chandler et James Gray Stevens. Henry Frye a siégé avec lui.

Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 5 juillet 1870 et à une élection partielle tenue le 16 mars 1871, rendue nécessaire par suite de son acceptation d’un portefeuille. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 13 juin 1874 sur la question des écoles non confessionnelles gratuites, qu’il appuyait, ainsi qu’aux élections générales du 13 juin 1878. Il a siégé jusqu’en 1882, lorsqu’il a démissionné pour entrer sur la scène politique fédérale.

Le 22 février 1871, il a été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et il a été nommé arpenteur en chef dans le gouvernement de l’hon. George L. Hatheway. Il a conservé le portefeuille dans le gouvernement de l’hon. George E. King jusqu’à sa démission, en 1878. Tandis qu’il occupait le poste d’arpenteur général, il a fait adopter la Free Grants Act de même que plusieurs lois ayant trait à l’économie interne du ministère des Terres de la Couronne. Lors de la formation du Cabinet de l’hon. John James Fraser, il a été nommé ministre sans portefeuille et a occupé le poste jusqu’à sa démission en janvier 1879.

Le 27 février 1879, il a été choisi président de l’Assemblée législative et il a occupé la charge jusqu’en 1882.

Aux élections générales fédérales du 20 juin 1882, il s’est présenté comme candidat dans la circonscription de Charlotte et a été battu par Arthur Hill Gillmor. Il a ensuite été nommé juge des successions pour le comté de Charlotte et a occupé le poste jusqu’à sa mort.

Il est décédé le 16 janvier 1890 à sa résidence de Saint Andrews, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.