Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. E.A. Vail, MD

Edwin Arnold Vail was born August 19, 1817, at Sussex Vale, Kings County, New Brunswick, of Colonial English and Loyalist ancestry, the son of John Cougle Vail and his first wife, Charlotte Hannah Arnold.

Educated at the Sussex grammar school, he studied medicine at the Royal Medical College, Edinburgh, Scotland, and at the University of Glasgow, Scotland. He graduated in 1837 with the degree of Doctor of Medicine.

He located at Sussex where he established his medical practice.

On July 25, 1842, he married Miss Frances Charlotte Cougle. By this marriage there was a family of two sons and two daughters. She died December 2, 1862, aged 38 years. In 1873 he married Miss Harriet Courtland Murphy. By this marriage there was a family of two daughters.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as one of the members for Kings County at the general election of May 8, 1857. Re-elected at the general elections of June 15, 1861 and March 14, 1865, he sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1866. On April 27, 1865, he was elected Speaker of the House of Assembly.

At the general election of June 12, 1866, he opposed the Confederation issue and was defeated. He was also defeated at a by-election held October 19, 1867, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of the sitting member, George Ryan.

Re-elected at the general election of July 2, 1870, he sat as a member until dissolution in 1874. On February 16, 1871, he was again elected Speaker. Defeated at the general election of June 20, 1874, he was again elected at the general elections of June 22, 1878 and June 1882. In March 1883 he was appointed to the Executive Council.

On April l, 1885, he was called to a seat in the Legislative Council of New Brunswick and sat as a member in that body until his death a few months later.

He died July 31, 1885, at his residence in Sussex.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Edwin Arnold Vail, M.D.

Edwin Arnold Vail est né le 19 août 1817 à Sussex Vale, dans le comté de Kings, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance coloniale anglaise et loyaliste, il était le fils de John Cougle Vail et de sa première femme, Charlotte Hannah Arnold.

Il a fréquenté la Sussex Grammar School et il a étudié la médecine au Royal Medical College, à Édimbourg, en Écosse, et à la University of Glasgow, en Écosse. Il a obtenu en 1837 un doctorat en médecine.

Il s’est établi à Sussex, où il a ouvert son cabinet.

Le 25 juillet 1842, il a épousé Frances Charlotte Cougle. De cette union sont nés deux fils et deux filles. Sa femme est décédée à 38 ans, le 2 décembre 1862. En 1873, il a épousé Harriet Courtland Murphy. De cette union sont nées deux filles.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick comme un des députés du comté de Kings aux élections générales du 8 mai 1857. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 15 juin 1861 et du 14 mars 1865 et il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1866. Le 27 avril 1865, il a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative.

Aux élections générales du 12 juin 1866, il s’est opposé à la question de la confédération et a été battu. Il a aussi été défait lors d’une élection partielle tenue le 19 octobre 1867 pour pourvoir le siège laissé vacant par suite de la démission du député George Ryan.

Réélu aux élections générales du 2 juillet 1870, il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1874. Le 16 février 1871, il a été réélu président. Battu aux élections générales du 20 juin 1874, il a été réélu à celles du 22 juin 1878 et de juin 1882. En mars 1883, il a été nommé au Conseil exécutif.

Le 1er avril 1885, il a été nommé au Conseil législatif du Nouveau-Brunswick et il y a siégé jusqu’à sa mort quelques mois plus tard.

Il est décédé le 31 juillet 1885 à sa résidence, à Sussex.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.