Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. W. Wedderburn

William Wedderburn was born in Saint John, New Brunswick, on October 12, 1834. He was the son of the late Alexander Wedderburn, a native of Aberdeen, Scotland, who was emigration agent for the city of Saint John for many years and author of several works on public affairs.

He was educated at the Saint John grammar school. He studied law under John H. Gray and was called to the Bar as attorney in 1856 and as barrister in 1858. He was created a Q.C. in 1873.

On April 29, 1858, he married Jeannie Vaughan, daughter of C.C. Vaughan. They had a family of one son and three daughters.

Mr. Wedderburn served as a director of the Deaf and Dumb Institution. He upheld the non-sectarian school law in Saint John. For many years he was editor of and contributor to the newspaper press. He was appointed with Mr. Morrison and Mr. Skinner to consolidate the provincial statutes of New Brunswick in 1873.

He held the office of president of the Mechanics' Institute for several years and was the Grand Worth Patriarch of the Sons of Temperance. He served as Deputy Grand Master and Grand Master of the Freemasons of the province.

First elected to the Legislature June 30, 1870 to represent Saint John City, he was re-elected June 5, 1874 and again on June 13, 1878. While in the Legislature, Mr. Wedderburn promoted much important legislation and established a reputation as one of the ablest speakers of his day.

He was one of the earliest advocates of Confederation and lectured on "The Union of the Colonies" during the Portland course of lectures in 1857. In association with Benjamin R. Stevenson and George L. Hatheway, he co-authored the report "Better Terms". He had been, on three occasions, a past delegate to Ottawa on this subject.

He was elected Speaker of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly February 18, 1875, a position he held until 1878. On May 4, 1878, he was appointed Provincial Secretary. He resigned in May 1882 and in June accepted the appointment of County Court Judge for Albert and Kings. He held this position until 1911 when he retired.

Mr. Wedderburn died April 5, 1918.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. William Wedderburn

William Wedderburn est né le 12 octobre 1834 à Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était le fils d’Alexander Wedderburn, né à Aberdeen, en Écosse. Ce dernier avait occupé le poste d’agent d’émigration à la ville de Saint John pendant de nombreuses années et signé plusieurs ouvrages consacrés aux affaires publiques.

Il a fréquenté la Saint John Grammar School. Il a étudié le droit avec John H. Gray et a accédé au Barreau comme avocat en 1856 et comme avocat plaidant en 1858. Il a été nommé conseiller de la reine en 1873.

Le 29 avril 1858, il a épousé Jeannie Vaughan, fille de C.C. Vaughan. Le couple a eu un fils et trois filles.

M. Wedderburn a été administrateur de la Deaf and Dumb Institution. Il s’est prononcé en faveur de la loi sur l’école non confessionnelle à Saint John. Il a été pendant bien des années rédacteur et collaborateur de la presse écrite. En 1873, il a été chargé, ainsi que M. Morrison et M. Skinner, de refondre les lois du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Il a été pendant plusieurs années président du Mechanics’ Institute et a obtenu le titre de très vénérable patriarche des Fils de la tempérance. Il a assumé le rôle de grand maître par intérim et de grand maître des francs-maçons dans la province.

Élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative le 30 juin 1870, comme député de Saint John, il a été réélu le 5 juin 1874 et de nouveau le 13 juin 1878. Au cours de ses années à l’Assemblée législative, M. Wedderburn a parrainé de nombreuses mesures législatives importantes et a acquis la réputation d’être l’un des meilleurs orateurs de son temps.

Il a été l’un des premiers partisans de la confédération et, en 1857, a donné des conférences sur l’union des colonies lors de la série de conférences de Portland. En collaboration avec Benjamin R. Stevenson et George L. Hatheway, il a rédigé le rapport intitulé Better Terms. À cet égard, il s’était rendu trois fois à Ottawa à titre de délégué.

Le 18 février 1875, il a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, charge qu’il a occupée jusqu’en 1878. Le 4 mai 1878, il a été nommé secrétaire provincial. Ayant démissionné en mai 1882, il a accepté en juin le poste de juge de la Cour de comté pour les comtés d’Albert et de Kings. Il a exercé ses fonctions jusqu’à sa retraite en 1911.

M. Wedderburn est décédé le 5 avril 1918.