Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. John Wesley Weldon

John Wesley Weldon was born on June 11, 1805, at Dorchester, New Brunswick. He was of English ancestry, the son of John and Mary Black Weldon.

John Weldon was educated at the Dorchester public school. He studied law in the law offices of the Hon. William Botsford and the Hon. Edward Barron Chandler. He was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as an attorney May 21, 1825, and as a barrister May 21, 1827.

He located at Richibucto, Kent County, New Brunswick. and engaged in the practice of his profession. Active in local and county affairs, he was Deputy Treasurer, Registrar of Probates, and Clerk of the Peace for the County of Kent. He was created Queen's Counsel in 1843.

He was first married February 26, 1829 to Miss Frances Chandler Upham, daughter of Judge Joshua Upham. She died May 19, 1844. By this marriage there was a family of one son. He remarried August 16, 1848 Miss Susan Haliburton, daughter of Thomas Chandler Haliburton. By this marriage there was a family of one son.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as one of the members for Kent County at the general election of June 1827. He was re-elected at the general elections of October 1830, December 1834, September 1837, December 1842 and October 1846, and sat as a member until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1850. At the general election of June 1850, he was defeated and subsequently retired from active politics.

On February 4, 1840, he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick, and continued a member until his resignation February 16, 1842. He was elected Speaker of the House of Assembly on January 31, 1843 and again on January 28, 1847, a position he held until the house dissolved in April 1850.

In 1857, Mr. Weldon moved to Saint John where he continued to practice law until his appointment to the Supreme Court.

In 1865 he was appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick. He continued a member of the Supreme Court until his death.

He died February 11, 1885, at Fredericton, New Brunswick.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. John Wesley Weldon

John Wesley Weldon est né le 11 juin 1805, à Dorchester, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance anglaise, il était le fils de John et de Mary Black Weldon.

John Weldon a fréquenté l’école publique de Dorchester. Il a étudié le droit dans le cabinet de l’hon. William Botsford et de l’hon. Edward Barron Chandler. Il a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick le 21 mai 1825 à titre d’avocat et le 21 mai 1827 à titre d’avocat plaidant.

Il s’est établi à Richibucto, dans le comté de Kent, au Nouveau-Brunswick, où il s’est livré à l’exercice de sa profession. Il a joué un rôle actif dans les affaires de la collectivité et du comté et a été trésorier adjoint, greffier aux homologations et greffier de la paix du comté de Kent. Il a été nommé conseiller de la reine en 1843.

Le 26 février 1829, il a épousé en premières noces Frances Chandler Upham, fille du juge Joshua Upham. Elle est décédée le 19 mai 1844. Un fils est né de cette union. M. Weldon s’est remarié le 16 août 1848 avec Susan Haliburton, fille de Thomas Chandler Haliburton. De cette union est né un fils.

M. Weldon a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative comme l’un des députés du comté de Kent aux élections générales de juin 1827. Il a été réélu aux élections générales d’octobre 1830, de décembre 1834, de septembre 1837, de décembre 1842 et d’octobre 1846 ; il a siégé jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée législative en 1850. Il a été battu aux élections générales de juin 1850 et s’est retiré de la politique active.

Le 4 février 1840, il a été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et a continué à siéger jusqu’à sa démission le 16 février 1842. Il a été élu à la présidence de l’Assemblée législative le 31 janvier 1843 et réélu le 28 janvier 1847 ; il a occupé la charge jusqu’à la dissolution de la Chambre en avril 1850.

En 1857, M. Weldon a déménagé à Saint John, où il a continué d’exercer le droit jusqu’à sa nomination à la Cour suprême.

En 1865, il a été nommé juge de la Cour suprême du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est demeuré membre de la magistrature jusqu’à sa mort.

Il est décédé le 11 février 1885 à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.