Speakers of the Legislative Assembly

Hon. Albert Scott White

Albert White was born April 12, 1855, at Sussex, Kings County, New Brunswick. He was of English-Loyalist ancestry, the son of James Edward and Margaret Scott White.

He moved with his parents to Saint John in 1857 when he was two years of age. He was educated at Varley School in Saint John until the age of 14 years when he entered Mount Allison Academy. In 1873 he graduated from Mount Allison University with the Degree of B.A.

The next year he became manager of a Saint John ropewalk and studied law in his spare time. He later entered Harvard Law School where he graduated with the degree of L.L.B. in 1877. He was admitted to the Bar of New Brunswick as an attorney on October 19, 1877, and as a barrister on October 24, 1878.

He located at Sussex, New Brunswick and practiced law. On June 10, 1892, he married Miss Ida May Vaughan, daughter of David Vaughan of St. Martins, N.B. By this marriage there was a family of one son.

He was first elected to the House of Assembly of New Brunswick as one of the members for Kings County at the general election of April 26, 1886. He was re-elected at the general elections of January 12, 1890; October 22, 1892; and the by-election held February 15, 1893, made necessary by his acceptance of office. He was re-elected again at the general elections of October 16, 1895 and February 18, 1899. He sat continuously as a member until his resignation on September 1, 1900, in order to enter federal politics.

On March 13, 1890, he was elected Speaker of the House of Assembly and held this position until the dissolution of the Legislature in 1892.

In March 1893 he was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of New Brunswick and received the appointment of Solicitor General in the administration of the Hon. A. G. Blair. He held this appointment throughout the administration of the Hon. James Mitchell.

When the Hon. H. R. Emmerson was appointed Premier when Hon. Mr. Mitchell deceased in 1897, A. S. White was appointed Attorney General and held this appointment until 1899. He later held the position of chief commissioner of public works.

He unsuccessfully contested Queens-Sunbury constituency for the House of Commons at the general election of November 7, 1900, being defeated by R. D. Wilmot.

In 1900 he was appointed chairman of the committee to revise and consolidate the New Brunswick Public Statutes. In 1903 he drafted the, Railway Act for the federal government.

He contested Kings-Albert constituency for the House of Commons at the general election of 1904 but was defeated by George William Fowler.

On January 9, 1908, he was appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick, vice the Hon. William Henry Tuck retired and continued a member of the Bench until his death. On the reorganization of the New Brunswick Supreme Court, December 11, 1913, he was appointed a Puisne Judge, Appeal and Chancery Division.

In 1900 Mount Allison University conferred upon Albert Scott White the honorary degree of D.C.L.

He died on March 17, 1931, in the Saint John Infirmary.

Source - Speakers of the Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, 1786-1985. 1985, Legislative Assembly, Province of New Brunswick, Office of the Clerk, Fredericton, N.B.

Présidents de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’hon. Albert Scott White

Albert White est né le 12 avril 1855 à Sussex, dans le comté de Kings, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’ascendance loyaliste anglaise, il était le fils de James Edward et de Margaret Scott White.

Il avait deux ans lorsque sa famille s’est établie à Saint John, en 1857. Il a fréquenté jusqu’à l’âge de 14 ans l’école Varley, à Saint John, puis a étudié à la Mount Allison Academy. En 1873, il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts de la Mount Allison University.

L’année suivante, soit en 1874, il a assumé la direction de l’une des corderies de Saint John, consacrant ses temps libres à l’étude du droit. Plus tard, il a fait des études à l’école de droit de Harvard, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat en droit en 1877. Il a été admis au Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick comme avocat, le 19 octobre 1877, et comme avocat plaidant, le 24 octobre 1878.

Il s’est établi à Sussex, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et a exercé le droit. Le 10 juin 1892, il a épousé Ida May Vaughan, fille de David Vaughan, de St. Martins, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Le couple a eu un fils.

Il a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, comme l’un des députés du comté de Kings, aux élections générales du 26 avril 1886. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 12 janvier 1890, à celles du 22 octobre 1892 et à l’élection partielle tenue le 15 février 1893, à la suite de son acceptation d’une charge. Il a été réélu aux élections générales du 16 octobre 1895 et du 18 février 1899. Il a siégé de façon continue jusqu’au 1er septembre 1900, date où il a démissionné afin d’entrer en politique fédérale.

Le 13 mars 1890, il a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative, charge qu’il a assumée jusqu’à la dissolution de l’Assemblée, en 1892.

En mars 1893, il a été assermenté membre du Conseil exécutif du Nouveau-Brunswick et nommé solliciteur général dans le gouvernement de l’hon. A.G. Blair, poste qu’il a occupé pendant toute la durée du mandat du gouvernement de l’hon. James Mitchell.

Lorsque l’hon. H.R. Emmerson a été nommé premier ministre, par suite du décès de l’hon. M. Mitchell en 1897, A.S. White a été nommé procureur général, charge qu’il a occupée jusqu’en 1899. Il a exercé plus tard les fonctions de commissaire en chef des travaux publics.

S’étant porté candidat pour représenter la circonscription de Queens-Sunbury, il a été battu par R.D. Wilmot aux élections générales fédérales du 7 novembre 1900.

En 1900, il a été nommé président du comité chargé de réviser et de refondre les lois d’intérêt public du Nouveau-Brunswick. En 1903, il a rédigé pour le compte du gouvernement fédéral la Loi sur les chemins de fer.

Il s’est porté candidat pour représenter la circonscription de Kings-Albert aux élections générales fédérales de 1904, mais il a été battu par George William Fowler.

Le 9 janvier 1908, il a été nommé juge de la Cour suprême du Nouveau-Brunswick, succédant à l’hon. William Henry Tuck, qui avait pris sa retraite, et il est demeuré membre de la magistrature jusqu’à sa mort. Le 11 décembre 1913, il a été nommé juge puîné de la Division d’appel et de la Division de la Chancellerie, dans le cadre de la réorganisation de la Cour suprême du Nouveau-Brunswick.

En 1900, la Mount Allison University a conféré à Albert Scott White un doctorat honorifique en droit civil.

Il est décédé le 17 mars 1931 à la Saint John Infirmary.

Source : Nouveau-Brunswick. Assemblée législative. Bureau du greffier. Orateurs de l’Assemblée législative : Province du Nouveau-Brunswick : 1786-1985, Fredericton, 1985.