Office of the Lieutenant Governor New Brunswick

Graydon Nicholas - Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick

Jocelyne Roy Vienneau
Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick

Jocelyne Roy Vienneau becomes New Brunswick’s 31st Lieutenant Governor, after a long and successful career focused on economic development, the promotion and advancement of education and community engagement.  In 2014 she ended her second and final mandate as Vice-President at l’Université de Moncton’s Shippagan Campus. She holds a Masters in Public Administration and a Bachelor of Applied Science in Industrial Engineering from l’Université de Moncton, as well as a teaching certificate from the province of New Brunswick.

Throughout her career, she has sought to promote and advance research and innovation. Ms. Roy Vienneau served as Assistant Deputy Minister for Post-Secondary Education for the Province of New Brunswick.  She also worked at the New Brunswick Community College in Bathurst for 23 years as dean, department head, professor and finally, principal during the last six years. She began her career as a project engineer at Esso’s Imperial Oil refinery in Montreal.

Photo: 200 dpi

Mme. Roy Vienneau was the first woman to occupy a secular position as Vice-President of a campus at l’Université de Moncton, the first woman to direct a francophone community college in New Brunswick, and one of the first women to graduate from the Faculty of Engineering at l’Université de Moncton.  

In 2003, she was named Alumni of the Year from l‘Université de Moncton’s engineering faculty. In 2001, during her time as principal of New Brunswick Community College in Bathurst, the school became one of the first two colleges in the country to be eligible for research grants with the Natural Sciences and Engineering Council of Canada. In 2015, she received the Paul Harris Fellow from the Shediac Rotary Club.

Ms. Roy Vienneau resides at Government House, with her husband Ronald Vienneau. She is the mother to two grown children, Isabelle and Cédric, and grandmother to Simon, born August 2015.

Office of the Lieutenant-Governor
E-mail | Contacts | Disclaimer | Privacy Statement

Bureau du lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick
 
Accueil du GNB | English

Graydon Nicholas - Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick

Jocelyne Roy Vienneau
Lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick

Jocelyne Roy Vienneau devient la 31ieme lieutenante gouverneure du Nouveau-Brunswick, après une longue et fructueuse carrière axée sur le développement économique, la promotion et l'avancement de l'éducation et l'engagement communautaire.  Elle a terminé en 2014 son deuxième et dernier mandat en tant que vice-rectrice du campus de Shippagan de l’Université de Moncton. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration publique et d’un baccalauréat en sciences appliquées avec spécialisation en génie industriel de l’Université de Moncton. Elle est aussi titulaire d’un certificat d’enseignement de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Tout au long de sa carrière, Mme Roy Vienneau a cherché à promouvoir et à favoriser la recherche et l’innovation. Elle a été sous-ministre adjointe, Éducation

Photo: 200 dpi

postsecondaire, au ministère de l’Éducation du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a travaillé au Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick à Bathurst pendant 23 ans en tant que doyenne, chef de département, professeur et directrice pendant les derniers six ans. Elle a commencé sa carrière comme ingénieure de projets à la raffinerie Esso Imperial Oil ltée à Montréal.

Mme Roy Vienneau fut la première femme laïque à être vice-rectrice d’un campus de l’Université de Moncton, la première femme à diriger un collège communautaire francophone au Nouveau-Brunswick et une des premières femmes à être diplômée de la faculté de génie de l’Université de Moncton.

En 2003, la faculté de génie de l’Université de Moncton lui a décerné le titre d’ancienne de l’année. En 2001, alors qu’elle était directrice du Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick à Bathurst, ce collège est devenu l’un des deux premiers collèges du pays à avoir droit à des subventions de recherche octroyées par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada. En 2015 elle recevait le Paul Harris Fellow du Club Rotary de Shédiac.

Mme Roy Vienneau réside à la résidence du gouverneur, avec son mari Ronald Vienneau. Elle a deux enfants d’âge adulte, Isabelle et Cédric, et est grand-mère de Simon, né en août 2015.