Office of the Lieutenant Governor New Brunswick
 

Lieutenant-
Governor
arrowMessage
arrowBiography
arrowCongratulatory Messages
arrowHistory
arrowFAQ's
arrowHome

Other Links
arrowGovernment House
arrowOrder of New Brunswick
arrowRelated Sites

Role of the Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick

The Queen of Canada, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, is the official Head of State and is represented in New Brunswick by the Lieutenant-Governor. Therefore, the Lieutenant-Governor is the nominal Head of State at the provincial level, empowered with the responsibility of representing the Queen in the province. However, the real power of governing resides with the Premier and the Executive Council (elected members appointed as Ministers of the Crown by the Lieutenant-Governor on the recommendation of the Premier).

The Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick is appointed by the Governor General-in-Council on the recommendation of the Prime Minister of Canada. The document of appointment is signed by the Governor General. The appointment, by tradition, is usually for a period of not less than five years and carries the title of "The Honourable" for life. In conversation and correspondence the Lieutenant-Governor is addressed as "Your Honour", as is his or her spouse.

The Lieutenant-Governor serves in a dual capacity: first as representative of the Queen for all purposes of the provincial government; and secondly, as a federal officer in discharging certain functions on behalf of the federal government.

The Lieutenant-Governor opens, prorogues and dissolves the Legislative Assembly. The Lieutenant-Governor is responsible for swearing-in the Premier and Cabinet Ministers and must ensure that a government is in office at all times. The Chief Justice of New Brunswick, as Administrator, acts for the Lieutenant-Governor during his/her absence, illness or other inability. One or the other must be in the province at all times.

The Lieutenant-Governor gives Royal Assent to all Bills passed by the Legislature before they become law, and, as well, signs them and other official documents such as proclamations, and appointments of persons to government posts including deputy ministers, provincial judges, members of boards, agencies and commissions, crown attorneys, and justices of the peace. The Lieutenant-Governor also signs a number of other official government documents, including land patents, leases, and appointments of notaries public and commissioners for taking affidavits.

A major responsibility of the Lieutenant-Governor is to deliver the Speech from the Throne at the formal Opening of a new Session of the Legislative Assembly. This speech outlines proposed legislation, programs, and possible initiatives of the government for that Session.

In addition to those formal duties, the Lieutenant-Governor also engages in a large number of discretionary but traditional activities, such as lending patronage to not-for-profit organizations which are dedicated to improving the quality of life in the community. The Lieutenant-Governor sponsors awards, presents citations, and participates in investitures, dedications and other major events celebrating the achievements of the people of New Brunswick; writes messages of greeting, congratulations and condolence; hosts receptions, luncheons and dinners for guests of various organizations and professions; receives members of the Royal Family, heads of state, ambassadors, and other representatives of foreign countries, as well as people from all walks of life. During the course of the year, the Lieutenant-Governor attends hundreds of public events in support of community initiatives across the province.

 


Office of the Lieutenant-Governor
E-mail | Contacts | Disclaimer | Privacy Statement

Bureau du lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick
 

Lieutenante-
Gouverneure
arrowMessage
arrowBiographie
arrowMessages de félicitations
arrowHistoire
arrowFAQ
arrowAccueil

Autres liens
arrowRésidence
du gouverneur

arrowOrdre du N.-B.
arrowAutres sites

Rôle du lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick

La reine du Canada, Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II, représentée au Nouveau-Brunswick par le lieutenant-gouverneur, est le chef d'État officiel. Le lieutenant-gouverneur est donc chef d'État de nom au palier provincial et, à ce titre, il a l'autorisation et la responsabilité de représenter la reine dans la province. Cependant, le pouvoir réel revient au premier ministre et au Conseil exécutif (lequel est formé de membres élus qui sont nommés ministres de la Couronne par le lieutenant-gouverneur à la recommandation du premier ministre).

Le lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick est nommé par le gouverneur général en conseil à la recommandation du premier ministre du Canada. Le document de nomination est signé par le gouverneur général. Selon la tradition, la nomination du lieutenant-gouverneur est valable pour une période d'au moins cinq ans et lui confère à vie le titre d'«honorable». Dans la conversation et la correspondance, il convient de donner le titre de «Votre Honneur» au lieutenant-gouverneur ou à la lieutenante-gouverneure, ainsi qu'à sa conjointe ou son conjoint.

Le lieutenant-gouverneur joue un double rôle; il agit d'abord en qualité de représentant de la reine pour toutes les activités du gouvernement provincial, puis en tant que fonctionnaire fédéral qui s'acquitte de certaines fonctions au nom du gouvernement fédéral.

C'est le lieutenant-gouverneur qui ouvre, proroge et dissout l'Assemblée législative. Il est chargé de faire prêter serment au premier ministre et aux membres du Conseil des ministres, et il doit s'assurer qu'il y a toujours un gouvernement au pouvoir. Le juge en chef du Nouveau-Brunswick devient administrateur au nom du lieutenant-gouverneur lorsque ce dernier est absent, malade ou incapable d'exercer ses fonctions pour quelque raison que ce soit. Le lieutenant-gouverneur et le juge en chef ne peuvent donc s'absenter de la province en même temps.

Le lieutenant-gouverneur accorde la sanction royale à tous les projets de loi adoptés par l'Assemblée législative avant qu'ils n'entrent en vigueur, et il les signe. Il appose également sa signature sur d'autres documents officiels comme les proclamations, les nominations à des postes du gouvernement, dont ceux de sous-ministre, juge provincial, membre d'un conseil, d'un organisme ou d'une commission, procureur de la Couronne et juge de paix. Il signe en outre d'autres documents tels les lettres patentes relatives aux biens-fonds publics, les baux, ainsi que les nominations de notaires et de commissaires aux affidavits.

Une des principales responsabilités du lieutenant-gouverneur consiste à prononcer le Discours du Trône à l'occasion de l'ouverture officielle d'une nouvelle session de l'Assemblée législative. Ce discours présente les projets de loi, les programmes et les initiatives que le gouvernement entend proposer au cours de la session.

En plus de ses obligations officielles, le lieutenant-gouverneur prend part, à sa discrétion, à un grand nombre d'activités traditionnelles. Ainsi, il parraine des activités bénévoles qui visent à améliorer la qualité de la vie dans la collectivité, ainsi que des programmes de récompenses. Il remet des citations, participe à des investitures, à des dédicaces et à d'autres cérémonies officielles soulignant les réalisations des Néo-Brunswickois et Néo-Brunswickoises, et il envoie des messages de félicitations et de condoléances. Il donne des réceptions, reçoit à déjeuner ou à dîner des invités exerçant diverses professions ou représentant diverses organisations, accueille les membres de la famille royale, les chefs d'État, les ambassadeurs et les autres représentants de pays étrangers, ainsi que des personnes de toutes conditions. Au cours d'une année, le lieutenant-gouverneur assiste à des centaines d'activités publiques et communautaires, d'un bout à l'autre de la province.