Office of the Lieutenant Governor New Brunswick
 

Lieutenant-
Governor
arrowMessage
arrowBiography
arrowCongratulatory Messages
arrowHistory
arrowFAQ's
arrowHome

Other Links
arrowGovernment House
arrowOrder of New Brunswick
arrowRelated Sites

Government House

Government House was constructed from 1826-28 to be the residence of New Brunswick's Governors and Lieutenant-Governors. The home is constructed of New Brunswick quarried sandstone and situated on eleven acres on the banks of the St. John River in Fredericton. It is a significant cultural landmark in Fredericton and the Province of New Brunswick. From 1828 until Confederation, most of the important decisions affecting the Province were debated in the building.

Government House had a number of uses from Confederation to 1996. It was a school for hearing impaired students from 1896 to 1900, a military barracks during World War 1 and a hospital for returning soldiers after the war. From 1934 to 1988 the building served as RCMP J Division headquarters.

Since its re-opening in 1999, New Brunswick's Government House has been open to the public. Restored rooms include the drawing room, the dining room, a library, a music room, two conservatories and the original Lieutenant-Governor's office on the main floor. The second floor includes exhibit rooms and the current Lieutenant-Governor's office. The Lieutenant-Governor's residence is on the third floor and closed to the public.

Fifteen of New Brunswick's Governors and Lieutenant-Governors have lived and worked at Government House.


Office of the Lieutenant-Governor
E-mail | Contacts | Disclaimer | Privacy Statement

Bureau du lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick
 

Lieutenante-
Gouverneure
arrowMessage
arrowBiographie
arrowMessages de félicitations
arrowHistoire
arrowFAQ
arrowAccueil

Autres liens
arrowRésidence
du gouverneur

arrowOrdre du N.-B.
arrowAutres sites

Résidence du gouverneur

La Résidence du gouverneur a été construite entre 1826 et 1828 pour servir de résidence aux gouverneurs et lieutenants-gouverneurs du Nouveau-Brunswick. La résidence de grès taillé occupe un site de onze acres sur les bords du fleuve Saint-Jean à Fredericton. Elle constitue un point de repère culturel important pour Fredericton et le Nouveau-Brunswick. De 1828 jusqu'à la Confédération, la plupart des décisions importantes touchant la province y ont été débattues.

Le bâtiment a servi à différentes fins entre la Confédération et 1996. Une école pour les sourds-muets s'y est installée entre 1896 et 1900. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il a servi de caserne militaire puis d'hôpital pour les soldats de retour au pays. De 1934 à 1988, la Division J. de la GRC y a aménagé son quartier général.

Depuis sa réouverture en 1999, la Résidence du gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick est ouverte au public. Parmi les salles restaurées on trouve, à l'étage principal : la salle de réception, la salle à manger, la bibliothèque, la salle de musique, deux serres et le bureau original du lieutenant-gouverneur. Le deuxième étage comprend deux salles d'exposition et le bureau de le lieutenant-gouverneur actuelle. La résidence privée du lieutenant-gouverneur est située au troisième étage et n'est pas accessible au public.

Quinze gouverneurs et lieutenants-gouverneurs ont habité et exercé leurs fonctions à la Résidence du gouverneur.