Office of the Auditor General Newswire Directory Services Government Home Government Search Français

Office
arrowAuditor General
arrowGeneral Information
arrowExpenses
arrowContacts
arrowEmployees
arrowHome
 
Information
arrowReports
arrowStrategic Plan
arrowCareer
Opportunities
 
Links
arrowNew Brunswick Government
arrowLegislative
Assembly
arrowOther Links

Career Opportunities

A Message from the Auditor General

This document has been prepared to provide you with information about the Office of the Auditor General, Province of New Brunswick, and what we can offer you. In preparing this document we have attempted to answer questions most often asked by prospective employees.

The mandate of the Office is legislated in the Auditor General Act. This mandate provides for audits broader in scope than those performed by many auditors. In addition to the normal financial audits we also perform compliance audits and value-for-money audits. This latter type of audit is intended to report on whether the taxpayers of the Province are receiving value for the money expended by government. These audits provide a variety of challenging work in government departments and agencies.

We are looking for people interested in a career in auditing who have proven academic ability, a high degree of motivation, a desire for challenging work and a dedication to the task. If you are considering a career as a professional accountant I hope you will give serious consideration to our Office as a place to pursue your goal.

I have a special message for those of you who already have a professional accounting designation and are looking for a career change. As a value-for-money auditor in our Office you will learn valuable techniques to assess the efficiency and economy of systems and programs. You will gain an understanding of governance, accountability and performance reporting. And you will be able to make a contribution towards the improved delivery of public services in New Brunswick.

So whether you are a university student, looking for an accounting designation, or a qualified professional, I sincerely believe that you will find the work here to be rewarding both personally and professionally.

Sincerely yours

Kim MacPherson, CA
Auditor General

Role of the Auditor General

The Auditor General's Office is administered under the Auditor General Act. This Act gives the Auditor General a number of responsibilities, which can be summarized as follows:

1. to audit the accounts of the Province and certain Crown agencies, and to express an opinion on their financial statements;

2. to review the financial statements and management letters of Crown agencies not audited by the Auditor General and, at his discretion, to examine the working papers of these organizations' auditors; and

3. to report annually to the Legislative Assembly on the work of the Office.

The Auditor General is an officer of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly. He assists the Legislative Assembly in holding the government accountable, by reporting on its stewardship of public funds and resources. This is accomplished by providing opinions on financial statements, by issuing the Auditor General's annual report to the Legislative Assembly and by appearing before its Standing Committees on Public Accounts and Crown Corporations.

Variety of audits

Perhaps you are wondering about the audit mix in the Office; that is, what type of operation would you be auditing as a member of our staff? We believe we have a mix of assignments to challenge you.

The audits performed by the Office cover a wide array of activities as the operations of the various departments of the Government of New Brunswick impact on every sector in our society. We review government activities in education, economic development, farming, fishing, forestry, mining, health, human resources development, labour, municipal affairs, environment, tourism and transportation.

Our audits also include agencies throughout the Province representing various types of operations such as the hotel and tourism industry, legal aid services, municipal finance, lotteries, crop insurance, research and regional development.

Resources

We have a staff of twenty-five to accomplish our mandate. Our resources extend beyond the Office, however. Through an association with the legislative auditors in other provinces and the federal Auditor General, we have access to various training and technical materials. Meetings and discussions among the offices permit an interchange of information. As a result our Office could be considered as one of eleven in a partnership which extends across Canada.

Language of work

Written and spoken competence in English is essential for employment in our Office. Since the Government of New Brunswick conducts business in both official languages (English and French), competence in both languages is essential for a certain number of our staff members.

Training

Our Office has been approved by the New Brunswick Institute of Chartered Accountants as a training office for CA students.

We also support individuals wishing to obtain their CMA or CGA designation.

In New Brunswick, the way to complete the formal training to become a Chartered Accountant is through the Atlantic School of Chartered Accountants (ASCA).

Students following this route are required to enrol in the ASCA program of post graduate studies leading to the designation "Chartered Accountant". This program consists of correspondence and summer school courses spread over two to three years. Your actual time on the program will depend in part on your undergraduate degree and the course exemptions granted on admission to the program. Most of our staff have degrees in business administration or commerce; some, however, have degrees in fields such as computer science, science, economics, nutrition and sociology.

The educational program conducted by ASCA includes courses in Accounting, Finance, Management Information Systems, Auditing and Taxation.

It is quite possible for you to finish all the courses, and successfully complete the Uniform Final Examinations leading to the designation in a two or three year period. Before you will be awarded the designation by the New Brunswick Institute of Chartered Accountants you must complete a thirty-month period of employment with a training office such as ours.

As a student in the Auditor General's Office you will take the same course of studies as students who obtain employment with CA firms in the Atlantic Provinces.

In-house Training

The Office supplements these professional programs with a series of in-house courses. These include a staff orientation course, courses on audit skills and techniques, and training in the use of specialized computer software.

The learning process does not end on receipt of the professional designation. Professional staff are encouraged to take courses in speciality areas to better equip them for the work required of the Office.

Assistance Toward Educational Costs

Substantial assistance is provided for student education costs. Time off with pay is provided for summer school and approved professional development courses.

The Office encourages staff with professional designations to continue their education and provides financial assistance to help in an approved program of self development.

Career Opportunities

Your job responsibilities will increase as you gain experience in the Office and progress through your courses. Naturally, your salary will increase as well!

Professional positions in the Office include senior auditor, audit supervisor and audit director.

There are career opportunities in our Office after you receive your professional designation. We hope you will stay and grow with us. However, your training as a professional accountant and experience in our Office will prepare you for other career alternatives. Former members of our staff are now employed in senior positions in various government departments and agencies, some are in public practice, others are employed by our universities and some are in senior positions in the private sector.

Performance Review

It is our belief that staff should be periodically told how they are performing through a formal evaluation process and they should be given an opportunity to provide input into the process.

At the beginning of the review period a performance plan is prepared jointly by senior personnel and those whose performance is to be evaluated. This defines the major responsibilities of staff, performance expectations and the key result areas. Periodic reviews compare actual performance with expected performance and identify areas where improvements can be made.

Salaries

We offer competitive salaries to all levels of staff. Salaries are reviewed at least annually and are revised on the basis of your performance in the Office and progression in your studies.

Benefits

A comprehensive benefits package is available to employees. This includes medical and dental coverage, group life and disability insurance, and a pension plan.

Employees are entitled to three weeks vacation with pay after one year's service. This increases to four weeks after eight years.

Travel

Most of our audit work is performed centrally in Fredericton, the provincial capital. However, some travel is required to review the operation of district or branch offices of various government departments or agencies throughout the Province. Travel is distributed among staff so that time away from Fredericton is not excessive.

Overtime

Overtime may be required from time to time but is generally minimal.

Conclusion

We hope this brochure has given you some insight into our Office. We hope you will wish to further explore the opportunities in the Office. If so please contact Janice Leahy, our Deputy Auditor General, at:

Office of the Auditor General
P. O. Box 758

Fredericton, New Brunswick

E3B 5B4

tel: (506) 453-2243

e-mail: janice.leahy@gnb.ca


Office of the Auditor General
Email | Contacts |
Disclaimer | Privacy Statement

Bureau du vérificateur général Fil de presse Répertoire Services Page d'accueil du N.-B. Recherche English

Bureau
arrowVérificatrice générale
arrowRenseignements généraux
arrowDépenses
arrowCoordonnées
arrowEmployés
arrowAccueil
 
Information
arrowRapports
arrowPlan stratégique
arrowPossibilités
de carrière
 
Liens
arrowGouvernement
du N.-B.
arrowAssemblée
législative
arrowAutres liens

Possibilités de carrière

Un message de la vérificatrice générale

Ce document a été préparée pour vous fournir de l’information sur le bureau du vérificateur général de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick et vous expliquer ce qu’il peut vous offrir. En préparant ce document, nous avons tenté de répondre aux questions que les employés éventuels posent le plus souvent.

Le mandat de notre bureau est prescrit par la Loi sur le vérificateur général. Ce mandat pourvoit pour des vérifications de plus grande envergure que celles effectuées par plusieurs vérificateurs. En plus des vérifications financières, nous effectuons des vérifications de conformité et des vérifications de l’optimisation des ressources. Cette dernière sorte de vérification évalue dans quelle mesure le gouvernement utilise à bon escient les ressources des contribuables de la province. Ces vérifications offrent une variété de travail stimulant dans les ministères et organismes du gouvernement.

Nous recherchons des personnes intéressées à poursuivre une carrière en vérification qui ont démontré beaucoup d’aptitudes pendant leurs études, qui sont motivées, qui manifestent le désir d’accomplir un travail exigeant et qui sont dévouées au travail. Si vous envisagez d’entreprendre une carrière de comptable professionnel, nous espérons que vous songerez sérieusement à venir poursuivre vos objectifs professionnels à notre bureau.

J’ai un message spécial pour ceux d’entre vous qui avez déjà votre désignation de comptable professionnel et qui cherchez un changement dans votre carrière. À tire de vérificateur de l’optimisation des ressources dans notre bureau, vous apprendrez des techniques utiles pour évaluer l’efficience et l’économie de systèmes et de programmes. Vous y acquérez une connaissance de la gouverne, de la reddition des comptes et de la présentation de l'information sur le rendement. Vous serez aussi à même de contribuer à l’amélioration de la prestation des services publics au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Alors si vous êtes un étudiant à l’université, envisageant d’obtenir une désignation comptable, ou êtes déjà un professionnel qualifié, je crois sincèrement que vous trouverez le travail ici personnellement et professionnellement enrichissant.

Sincèrement vôtre

La vérificatrice génerale,
Kim MacPherson, CA


Rôle de la vérificatrice générale

Le Bureau du vérificateur général est géré en conformité avec la Loi sur le vérificateur général. Celle-ci confère à la vérificatrice générale un certain nombre de responsabilités qui peuvent être résumées comme suit:

1. vérifier les comptes de la province et de certains organismes de la Couronne et formuler une opinion sur les états financiers de ceux-ci.

2. examiner les états financiers et les lettres de recommandation des organismes de la Couronne qui ne sont pas vérifiés par la vérificatrice générale et, à sa discrétion, examiner les dossiers de vérification desdits organismes;

3. faire rapport annuellement à l’Assemblée législative sur les travaux du bureau.

Le vérificatrice générale est un fonctionnaire de l’Assemblée législative. Elle aide l’Assemblée législative à voir à ce que le gouvernement rende compte de ses actions, en faisant rapport de la façon dont le gouvernement s’acquitte de son rôle de fiduciaire des ressources et des deniers publics. Elle assume cette tâche en formulant des opinions sur les états financiers, en publiant le Rapport annuel de la vérificatrice générale à l’intention de l’Assemblée législative et en se présentant devant le Comité des comptes publics et le Comité des corporations de la Couronne.

Variété de vérifications

Peut-être que vous vous demandez quel genre de clientèle est desservie par notre bureau, c’est-à-dire, le genre d’activités que vous seriez appelé à vérifier en tant que membre de notre personnel. Nous croyons avoir une gamme de mandats pour vous stimuler.

Les vérifications effectuées par le bureau du vérificateur général touchent une vaste gamme d’activités, puisque les opérations des divers ministères du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick ont un impact sur tous les secteurs de note société. Nous effectuons des vérifications sur les activités du gouvernement en éducation, développement économique, agriculture, pêches, forêts, mines, santé, développement des ressources humaines, travail, affaires municipales, environnement, tourisme et transports.

Nous effectuons également des vérifications des organismes dans l’ensemble de la province qui exercent divers types d’activités, telles que l’industrie hôtelière et touristique, les services d’aide juridique, les finances municipales, les loteries, l’assurance-récolte, la recherche et le développement régional.

Ressources

Le vérificatrice générale est secondée dans l’exécution de son mandat par un personnel de vingt-cinq employés. Nos ressources s’étendent bien au-delà de notre bureau. Par nos liens avec les vérificateurs législatifs des autres provinces et le vérificateur général fédéral , nous avons accès à un éventail varié de techniques et d'outils de formation. En participant aux différentes réunions et discussions avec les bureaux, nous bénéficions d’un échange d’information valable. Ainsi, notre bureau est considéré comme l’un des onze partenaires qui constituent une sorte d’association dans l’ensemble du Canada.

Langue de travail

Une bonne connaissance de l’anglais parlé et écrit est essentielle pour un poste dans notre bureau. Puisque le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick mène ses activités dans les deux langues officielles (anglais et français), une bonne connaissance des deux langues est nécessaire pour un certain nombre de membres de notre personnel.

Formation

Notre bureau a été approuvé par l’Institut des comptables agréés du Nouveau-Brunswick comme bureau de formation pour les étudiants CA. Nous appuyons également les individus désirant obtenir leur désignation de CMA ou CGA.

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, le moyen de devenir comptable agréé est par l'entremise de l’Atlantic School of Chartered Accountants (ASCA).

Les étudiants qui choisissent cette avenue doivent s’inscrire au programme d’études supérieures menant à la désignation de "comptable agréé" Ce programme comprend des modules de cours d’été et de cours par correspondance qui s'échelonnent sur une période de deux à trois ans. Le temps consacré effectivement au programme dépendra en partie de votre diplôme de premier cycle et des exemptions de cours obtenues lors de l’admission au programme. La plupart de nos employés ont un baccalauréat en gestion des affaires ou en commerce; certains, toutefois, ont un diplôme universitaire en informatique, sciences, économie, alimentation et sociologie.

Le programme de formation administré par ASCA comprend des cours en comptabilité, en finances, en systèmes d’information de gestion, en vérification et en fiscalité.

Vous pouvez très bien terminer tous les modules et réussir l'examen final uniforme menant à la désignation dans une période de deux à trois ans. Avant d’obtenir la désignation accordée par l’Institut des comptables agréés du Nouveau-Brunswick, vous devez accomplir un stage de trente mois d’emploi dans un bureau de formation tel que le nôtre.

En tant qu’étudiant au bureau du vérificateur général, vous suivrez les mêmes cours que les étudiants qui obtiennent un emploi dans les cabinets d’experts-comptables dans les provinces atlantiques.

Formation interne

Le bureau ajoute à ces programmes une série de cours internes. Ceux-ci incluent un cours d’orientation du personnel, des cours sur des compétences et des techniques de vérification , et une formation sur l'utilisation de logiciels spécialisés.

L’apprentissage ne se termine pas lors de l’obtention de la désignation professionnelle. Les employés sont encouragés à suivre des cours dans des domaines spécialisés afin de mieux se préparer au travail exigé par le bureau.

Aide pour défrayer le coût des études

Une aide substantielle est fournie pour défrayer le coût des études. On accorde du temps libre payé pour les cours d’été et les cours de perfectionnement professionnel approuvés.

Le bureau encourage les employés qui possèdent déjà une désignation professionnelle à poursuivre leurs études et il leur fournit une aide financière dans le cadre d'un programme de perfectionnement professionnel approuvé.

Possibilités de carrière

Vos responsabilités professionnelles augmenteront à mesure que vous prendrez de l'expérience au bureau et avancerez dans vos cours. Naturellement, votre traitement augmentera également.

Le bureau compte les postes professionnels suivants : vérificateur principal, superviseur et directeur de la vérification.

Notre bureau offre des possibilités de carrière à ceux qui obtiennent leur désignation professionnelle. Naturellement, nous espérons que vous resterez et évoluerez avec nous. Toutefois, votre formation à titre d'expert-comptable et votre expérience dans notre bureau vous prépareront à d’autres genres de carrière. Certains de nos anciens employés occupent maintenant des postes supérieurs dans divers ministères et organismes du gouvernement, d’autres sont au service de cabinets d’experts-comptables; quelques-uns sont embauchés par des universités tandis que certains occupent des postes supérieurs dans le secteur privé.

Évaluation du rendement

Nous croyons que les employés devraient être renseignés périodiquement sur leur rendement par une évaluation formelle; ils devraient aussi avoir l’occasion de participer à cette démarche.

Au début d’une évaluation périodique, un plan de rendement est préparé conjointement par un employé cadre et ceux subissant leur évaluation de rendement. Ce plan précise les responsabilités majeures de l’employé, les attentes de rendement et les domaines où des résultats sont attendus. Les évaluations périodiques comparent le rendement actuel avec les attentes et relèvent les points faibles notés afin que toute mesure corrective qui s’impose puisse être prise.

Traitement

Nous offrons un traitement concurrentiel pour toutes les catégories de personnel. Le barème de traitement est révisé au moins tous les ans et est fonction de votre rendement au sein du bureau et des progrès enregistrés dans vos études.

Avantages sociaux

Nos employés bénéficient d’une série d’avantages sociaux, y compris un régime d’assurance de soins médicaux et dentaires, un régime d’assurance collective et un régime de pension.

Les employés ont droit à trois semaines de congés annuels payés après un an de service et à quatre semaines après huit ans.

Déplacements

La majeure partie de nos travaux de vérification sont effectués à Fredericton, la capitale provinciale. Cependant, les employés sont appelés à se déplacer pour vérifier les activités des bureaux de district ou des directions de divers ministères ou organismes du gouvernement dans l’ensemble de la province. Les déplacements sont répartis entre les employés de façon à ce que le temps passé à l’extérieur du bureau central ne soit pas excessif.

Temps supplémentaire

L’employé peut être appelé parfois à effectuer du temps supplémentaire, mais en général, cela se produit rarement.

Conclusion

Nous espérons que cette brochure vous a éclairé sur notre bureau. Nous espérons que vous songerez à explorer plus loin vos objectifs professionnels avec notre bureau. Si tel est le cas, s’il-vous-plaît contactez Mme. Janice Leahy, notre vérificatrice générale adjointe au:

Bureau du vérificateur général
Boîte postale 758
Fredericton, N.-B. E3B 5B4
Téléphone : (506) 453-2243
Courriel : janice.leahy@gnb.ca