Government of New Brunswick

Mental Health Services is committed to the least restrictive, most appropriate care for people with mental disorders.

Mental Health Services oversees the operation of 14 Community Mental Health Centres, and administers purchase-of-service contracts with regional health authorities for eight psychiatric units, one child and adolescent psychiatric unit and two tertiary hospitals - the Restigouche Hospital Centre in Campbellton and Centracare in Saint John.

Mental Health Services ensures the delivery system is co-ordinated, effective, and consistent with the mental health policy framework for the province.

The Department of Health is working in partnership with the province's health authorities to support the transformation of our addiction and mental health services toward a more recovery-oriented practice for the people we serve.


The Action Plan for Mental Health in New Brunswick 2011-18
Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Unit
Community Mental Health Centres
Critical Incident Stress Management
Autism Spectrum Disorder and Their Families

Role of Psychiatric Hospitals
Role of Psychiatric Units
Role, Responsibilities and Provincial Structure
Services for the Elderly
Suicide Prevention
Youth Engagement
Youth Treatment Program
Tips for dealing with stress in an emergency

Community Mental Health Centres

Use the map below to see a listing of Community Mental Health Centres by region.

New Brunswick Health and Community Services Regions Zone 1 A+B Zone 2 Zone 3 Zone 4 Zone 5 Zone 6 Zone 7

News Release

Progress report on mental health action plan released


The Action Plan for Mental Health in New Brunswick 2011-18
Addiction and Mental Health Program Guidelines (Change Vision)
Progress Report 2015
Progress Report 2013

Related Links

Video on postpartum depression
Psychiatric Patient Advocate Services

Mental Health Offices

Zone 1
Zone 2
Zone 3
Zone 4
Zone 5
Zone 6
Zone 7


Activity Centres
Community Mental
Health Centres