Dennis Furlong to chair Trauma System Advisory Committee (07/10/02)

NB 1243

Oct. 2, 2007

FREDERICTON (CNB) - Dr. Dennis Furlong, a former provincial minister of health and long-time family physician in the Dalhousie area, will chair the newly formed New Brunswick Trauma System Advisory Committee, Health Minister Michael Murphy confirmed today.

"This committee will consider the role of all hospital facilities and their linkages, as well as related policies and protocols that will result in an integrated trauma system," Murphy said. "Dr. Furlong and other committee members will advise me as to how to create an inclusive provincial trauma system that uses the resources available in all our hospitals."

The committee will advise the minister on how and what will be needed to put recommendations into practice that were recently put forward by consultants. These consultants looked into the creation of an integrated trauma system for the province, as well as expert independent review of the consultants' report. Their report can be found online at:, while the expert review can be found at:

One task will be to assign each hospital a designated role within the trauma system.

"This is in keeping with the recommendations of the Trauma Association of Canada, in which all hospitals receive a designation as to their care capability, and injured patients move quickly to the nearest facility that is appropriate to their condition and needs," Murphy said.

The New Brunswick Trauma System Advisory Committee will also draw its membership from the chief executive officers and senior medical representatives from the Regional Health Authorities. Ambulance New Brunswick, which is the newly created public sector company charged with operating all ambulance services in the province, is also represented.

Murphy said he has asked the committee to report to him in time for decisions to be made for the next budget year beginning April 1, 2008.


MEDIA CONTACT: Johanne LeBlanc, communications, Department of Health, 506-457-3513.