Intergovernmental Affairs

Order of New Brunswick recipients announced (07/08/06)

NB 1002

Aug.6, 2007

REXTON (CNB) - The names of the 10 recipients of the Order of New Brunswick, the highest distinction awarded by the Province, were announced today by Premier Shawn Graham.

The premier revealed the recipients' names for 2007 during the official New Brunswick Day celebration held in Rexton.

The recipients for 2007 are:

"On this special day, as we celebrate pride in our province, it is very fitting to recognize 10 outstanding New Brunswickers who we have reason to be proud of and are this year's recipients of the Order of New Brunswick," Graham said. "We are very fortunate to have such accomplished and gifted individuals who have made, and continue to make, outstanding contributions, in so many different fields, to our province and to our country. I congratulate them on behalf of all New Brunswickers."

The 10 new appointees will receive the Order of New Brunswick at a ceremony to be held this fall. These new appointments bring the membership of the order to 58.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize New Brunswickers who have demonstrated excellence and achievement, and who have made an outstanding contribution to the social, cultural, or economic well-being of the province. The first investiture ceremony was held in 2002.

Biographies of the 10 recipients may be viewed at the Order of New Brunswick website.


MEDIA CONTACT: Gisèle Regimbal, communications, Intergovernmental Affairs, 506-444-4594.