NB Power chair appointed, board members announced (10/04/19)

NB 566

April 19, 2010

FREDERICTON (CNB) - A new chair and three new members have been named to the NB Power board of directors. Energy Minister Jack Keir made the announcement today.

Ed Barrett had his term extended for an additional four years and has been named chair of the board, effective immediately. He moves to the position having served as vice-chair for the past three years.

Robert (Bob) Youden, Lise Ouellette and Louis LaPierre have also been named as new board members for three-year terms. John Mallory was also reappointed to the board for three years.

"I am pleased to announce the appointments of these knowledgeable and dedicated New Brunswickers," Keir said. "The NB Power board of directors plays an important role at the utility. I am confident the team we have in place will help guide the utility while ensuring New Brunswickers receive the same great, reliable service they have come to expect from NB Power."

Board members David Ferguson and David Johnstone, who were appointed on an interim basis during the New Brunswick government's proposed energy agreement negotiations, will no longer serve on the board. Former board chair Francis McGuire's term ended earlier this month.

"I want to thank the outgoing members for the commitment they have shown to NB Power and to the people of New Brunswick, particularly over the past few months," said Keir.


EDITOR'S NOTE: Biographies of the new board members follow. MEDIA CONTACT: Bonnie Doyle, communications, Department of Energy 506-658-2410; John McLaughlin, communications, NB Power, 506-458-4217.


Ed Barrett is the chair and co-chief executive officer of Barrett Corp., an international management company. His former posts have included chief executive officer of Barrett Marketing Group, a North American distribution company, and chief executive officer of Atlantic Rentals Ltd. He holds a masters degree in public administration.

Robert (Bob) Youden is the senior vice-president of Stantec Inc. Previously the chief executive officer of Jacques Whitford from 2003 to 2008, he led the sale of Jacques Whitford to Stantec Inc., including the integration of operations. He received his commerce degree from Dalhousie University and is a chartered accountant.

Lise Ouellette is the executive director of the Association francophone des municipalities du Nouveau-Brunswick, a position she has held since 2004. Prior to this, she worked as research and development co-ordinator at the Université de Moncton - Shippagan campus. She holds a masters degree in sociology from the Université de Montréal.

Louis LaPierre is professor emeritus in biology at the Université de Moncton and past K.C. Irving Chair in Sustainable Development. He has dedicated the past three decades, working with a variety of groups, to protecting the environment. He was a member of the National High Level Nuclear Waste Disposal Panel, chair of the Bruce New Build Environmental Assessment Panel, and chair of the New Brunswick Sustainable Development Strategy.

John Mallory is deputy minister finance and secretary of the board of management, the provincial treasury board. He is a certified corporate director and a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors, having graduated from its director's education program.