CNB News Releases
Office of the Premier

List of ministers and deputy ministers (00/03/23)

NB 238

March 23, 2000

FREDERICTON (CNB) -- Attached is a list of newly appointed ministers and deputy ministers. The appointments are to be effective April 1, 2000. On June 30, 2000, New Brunswick Liquor Corporation president Roger Landry will retire. On July 1, 2000, George Bouchard will become President of the Corporation. Also on July 1, 2000, William Thompson will become Deputy Minister of the Department of Investment and Exports.

Ministers and Deputy Ministers

Department Minister Deputy Minister
Office of the Premier Bernard Lord William Thompson
Executive Council Office Bernard Lord, President Jean-Guy Finn

David McLaughlin

(Policy and Planning)

Intergovernmental Affairs Bernard Lord David McLaughlin
Minister Responsible for the Regional Development Corporation

Bernard Lord Hermel Vienneau
Justice / Attorney General Brad Green Roger Bilodeau
Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs and the Aboriginal Affairs Secretariat Jean-Guy Finn
Finance Norm Betts John Mallory
Public Safety Milton Sherwood Don Dennison
Supply and Services Dale Graham

Deputy Premier

G. Stephenson Wheatley

Margaret-Ann Blaney

Minister responsible for the Status of Women

David Johnstone

Natural Resources and Energy Jeannot Volpé

Minister responsible for the Energy Secretariat

David Ferguson

Health and Wellness Dennis Furlong Paul LeBreton
Family and Community Services Percy Mockler

Minister responsible for the Social Union Framework Agreement

Karen Mann

Business New Brunswick Joan MacAlpine Paul Aucoin
Investment and Exports Peter Mesheau George Bouchard
Service New Brunswick

Peter Mesheau Robert Gamble
Environment and Local Government Kim Jardine Byron James
Education Elvy Robichaud

Minister responsible for the Culture and Sport Secretariat

Minister responsible for the Premier's Task Force on the Acadian Peninsula

Raymond Daigle

Dennis Cochrane

(until April 15)

Training and Employment Development Norm McFarlane

Nora Kelly
Food Production Paul Robichaud

Minister responsible for the Peninsula Fisheries Council

Claire LePage


MEDIA CONTACTS: Bob Scott or Luc Fournier, Office of the Premier, 506-453-2144.