|
|
|
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick

Standing Committee on Climate Change and Environmental Stewardship

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARINGS AND CALL FOR BRIEFS:
PESTICIDE AND HERBICIDE USE IN NEW BRUNSWICK

The Standing Committee on Climate Change and Environmental Stewardship, an all-party permanent committee of the Legislative Assembly, is seeking public input on the use of pesticides and herbicides, including glyphosate, in the province.      

Glyphosate is an herbicide used for a wide variety of purposes in forestry and agriculture, and for weed control in industrial, commercial and domestic settings. While certain studies have indicated that glyphosate may not pose a cancer risk to humans at current exposure rates, many New Brunswickers remain concerned about its use. 

The public hearings on pesticide and herbicide use, including glyphosate, will be held in the Legislative Council Chamber of the Legislative Assembly building in Fredericton, New Brunswick from March 24 to 27. Additional dates may be added if necessary.  

Individuals, organizations, subject-matter experts and stakeholders who wish to make a presentation to the committee on the use of pesticides and herbicides, including glyphosate, should notify the Office of the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly by phone or e-mail by Friday, March 13. Those who are unable to make a presentation and prefer to submit a written brief on the subject should do so by Friday, March 20.

Office of the Clerk
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
P.O. Box 6000
Fredericton, N.B.
E3B 5H1
Telephone: (506) 453-2506
E-mail: leg-consultations@gnb.ca

DISCLAIMER

|
|
|
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

Comité permanent des changements climatiques et de l'intendance de l'envrionnement

AVIS D’AUDIENCES PUBLIQUES ET DEMANDE DE MÉMOIRES
UTILISATION DES PESTICIDES ET DES HERBICIDES AU NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK

Le Comité permanent des changements climatiques et de l’intendance de l’environnement, un comité permanent multipartite de l’Assemblée législative, demande l’apport du public relativement à l’utilisation des pesticides et des herbicides, notamment le glyphosate, dans la province.

Le glyphosate est un herbicide à usage très varié en foresterie et en agriculture et est aussi employé aux fins de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes par le secteur industriel, le secteur commercial et des particuliers. Même si certaines études ont indiqué que les concentrations actuelles de glyphosate auxquelles les êtres humains sont exposés ne présenteraient aucun risque de cancer, de nombreuses personnes du Nouveau-Brunswick demeurent préoccupées par son utilisation.

Les audiences publiques sur l’utilisation des pesticides et des herbicides, notamment le glyphosate, se dérouleront du 24 au 27 mars dans la Chambre du Conseil législatif de l’édifice de l’Assemblée législative, à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. D’autres dates pourraient être ajoutées au besoin.

Les personnes, les organismes, les experts et les parties prenantes qui souhaitent donner une présentation au comité sur l’utilisation des pesticides et des herbicides, notamment le glyphosate, doivent le faire savoir au bureau du greffier de l’Assemblée législative par téléphone ou par courriel d’ici au vendredi 13 mars. Les personnes qui ne sont pas en mesure de donner une présentation, mais qui veulent néanmoins soumettre un mémoire sur la question doivent le faire d’ici au vendredi 20 mars.

Bureau du greffier
Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
C. P. 6000
Fredericton (N.-B.)
E3B 5H1
Téléphone : 506 453-2506
Courriel : leg-consultations@gnb.ca

DÉCHARGE