Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Premiers Since Confederation
Home | Franšais

Richard Hatfield


The Honourable Richard Bennett Hatfield was born in Woodstock, N.B., on April 9, 1931. He was named in honour of Richard Bedford Bennett, a New Brunswick native and friend of the Hatfield family and the only New Brunswick-born Canadian Prime Minister. Richard was the sixth child born to Heber and Dora Hatfield and he grew up in the town of Hartland, N.B., where his father was one of the leading potato merchants. Heber Hatfield served as mayor of Hartland and represented the riding of Victoria-Carleton in the House of Commons from 1940 until his death on January 3, 1952.

Richard Hatfield was educated at Hartland High School and Rothesay Collegiate School, where one of his roommates was Robin MacNeil, the former PBS NewsHour anchor. He attended Acadia University and graduated in 1952 with a Bachelor of Arts degree. He obtained his Bachelor of Law degree from Dalhousie University in 1956. His classmates at Dalhousie included Alex Campbell and Gerald Regan, future Premiers of Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia respectively, and John Crosbie, who served as a Cabinet minister under two Conservative Prime Ministers. Admitted to the Bar of Nova Scotia in 1956, he practised law for six months in Truro, Nova Scotia.

During 1957-58 he served as executive assistant to Gordon Churchill, the federal Minister of Trade and Commerce in Ottawa. Disenchanted with Ottawa and federal politics, he returned to Hartland in 1958 to assume the position of sales manager for Hatfield Industries Ltd., the family potato chip business.

In 1961 he was elected to the Legislative Assembly in a Carleton County by-election held to fill the vacancy created when former Premier Hugh John Flemming resigned following his government's defeat to Louis Robichaud in 1960. He was re-elected in 1963 and 1967 to represent Carleton County.

On June 14, 1969, he was chosen Leader of the Progressive Conservative Party of New Brunswick. In the general election held on October 26, 1970, he led his party to victory over Louis Robichaud's Liberal Party. On November 12, 1970, at the age of 39, he was sworn in as the 24th Premier of New Brunswick. His Progressive Conservative government was re-elected in 1974, 1978 and 1982, for a total of four consecutive terms spanning 17 years, which makes him the longest serving Premier in New Brunswick's history.

In the 1987 general election the reign of his Progressive Conservative government was curtailed by the Frank McKenna-led Liberals, losing every seat in the Legislature. Following the loss, he resigned as leader of his party. On September 7, 1990, he was appointed to the Senate of Canada by then Prime Minister Brian Mulroney.

During his terms as Premier, his accomplishments were many, both on the national stage and at home in New Brunswick. At the federal level, he was dedicated to the promotion of national unity, and he played an important role with his support of the patriation of the Canadian Constitution and the establishment of a Charter of Rights and Freedoms. His efforts led to the inclusion of the right to minority language education in the Constitution Act, 1982. He strongly supported amendments to the Indian Act for the purpose of reinstating the right to equality of Aboriginal women in Canada. On April 17, 1982, following the proclamation of the Constitution Act, 1982, he was sworn in as a member of the Queen's Privy Council.

His contributions to his home province are highlighted by his work towards equality among the French and English-speaking people of New Brunswick along with his efforts to promote the women's equality movement. He is credited with giving more political recognition to Acadians and he played a major part in solidifying the relationship between the Acadian people in Atlantic Canada and their English-speaking neighbours. His government consolidated the Liberal program of Equal Opportunity and implemented the Official Languages Act. He was responsible for New Brunswick's membership in the Organisation Internationale de La Francophonie, an Association of French speaking nations, which New Brunswick joined in 1977.

His political reforms include the Political Process Financing Act and the reorganization of the electoral map of New Brunswick into smaller single-member ridings. His search for innovative projects for New Brunswick led to the Bricklin automobile, an acrylic sports car with gull-wing doors, which was manufactured in New Brunswick until the project's termination. He was a founder of the Council of Maritime Premiers and in 1984 he commissioned a new coat of arms (armorial bearings) for New Brunswick to coincide with New Brunswick's bicentennial. He was responsible for the creation of the Youth Council of New Brunswick, the Premier's Advisory Committee on the Arts, the Advisory Council on the Status of Women, and the Premier's Council on the Status of Disabled Persons.

He was a director of the Canadian Council of Christians and Jews and an honorary member of both the executive of the New Brunswick Division of the Canadian Red Cross Society and the Provincial Council of the Boy Scouts of Canada.

He received honorary Doctor of Law degrees from the four universities in New Brunswick and an honorary Doctor of Political Science from the UniversitÚ Sainte-Anne in Nova Scotia. He received the honorary title Chief Rolling Thunder from the Micmac-Maliseet Nations and was awarded the Canada-Israel Friendship Award.

His interests included travelling, throughout Canada and the world, and heritage preservation, as he was an active participant in the Carleton County Historical Society. This latter interest was revealed early in his career. In his very first speech in the Legislative Assembly as an MLA, he proposed the establishment of a committee to direct renovations to the decor and furniture of the Legislative Assembly Building. The 1980's restoration and refurbishing of the historic 1882 Legislative Assembly chamber was a testament to his commitment to heritage preservation.

He was an admirer and recipient of various works of art and a promoter of Canadian artists and their work. As a result of his wishes, the Senator Richard Hatfield Memorial Fund was established by the Beaverbrook Art Gallery in New Brunswick. The fund supports both the acquisition of Canadian works of art by the Gallery and the outreach program, which enables the Gallery to share its collection with schools and with other galleries across the province.

The Honourable Richard Bennett Hatfield died in Ottawa on April 26, 1991, at 60 years of age. As one of New Brunswick's most prominent citizens, his funeral in Fredericton was attended by Premiers and Prime Ministers, friends and opponents, all of whom were there to celebrate the life of a man who had given so much to New Brunswick.


Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Email | Contacts |
Disclaimer

Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Premiers ministres depuis la confédération
Page d'accueil | English

Richard Hatfield


L'hon. Richard Bennett Hatfield est né à Woodstock, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 9 avril 1931. Son nom a été choisi pour honorer Richard Bedford Bennett, originaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, ami de la famille Hatfield et seul premier ministre du Canada né au Nouveau-Brunswick. Sixième enfant de Heber et de Dora Hatfield, Richard a grandi à Hartland, au Nouveau-Brunswick, où son père était parmi les plus importants marchands de pommes de terre. Heber Hatfield a été maire de Hartland et a représenté la circonscription de Victoria-Carleton à la Chambre des communes de 1940 jusqu'à sa mort, le 3 janvier 1952.

Richard Hatfield a fréquenté l'école secondaire de Hartland et l'école Rothesay Collegiate, où il a eu parmi ses cochambreurs Robin MacNeil, ancien présentateur de l'émission NewsHour, du PBS. Il a fréquenté la Acadia University et il a reçu un baccalauréat ès arts en 1952. Il a obtenu en 1956 son baccalauréat en droit de la Dalhousie University. Il a compté parmi ses camarades de classe Alex Campbell et Gerald Regan, futurs premiers ministres de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la Nouvelle-Écosse respectivement, ainsi que John Crosbie, qui a été ministre sous deux premiers ministres conservateurs. Admis au Barreau de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1956, il a pratiqué le droit pendant six mois à Truro, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

En 1957-1958, il a été chef de cabinet de Gordon Churchill, ministre fédéral du Commerce, à Ottawa. Déçu d'Ottawa et de la politique fédérale, il est retourné à Hartland en 1958 pour assumer le poste de directeur des ventes de Hatfield Industries, Limited, l'entreprise familiale de production de croustilles de pommes de terre.

En 1961, il a été élu à l'Assemblée législative dans une élection partielle visant à combler le siège laissé vacant lorsque l'ancien premier ministre Hugh John Flemming a démissionné, après la défaite de son gouvernement par Louis Robichaud en 1960. Il a été réélu en 1963 et en 1967 pour représenter le comté de Carleton.

Le 14 juin 1969, il a été choisi chef du Parti progressiste-conservateur du Nouveau-Brunswick. Aux élections générales du 26 octobre 1970, il a mené son parti à la victoire contre le Parti libéral de Louis Robichaud. Le 12 novembre 1970, à l'âge de 39 ans, il a été assermenté 24e premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick. Son gouvernement progressiste-conservateur a été réélu en 1974, en 1978 et en 1982, pour un total de quatre mandats de suite s'étendant sur 17 ans ; il est donc le premier ministre ayant servi le plus longtemps dans l'histoire du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Aux élections générales de 1987, les Libéraux, sous la direction de Frank McKenna, ont terminé le règne de son gouvernement progressiste-conservateur, qui a perdu tous les sièges à l'Assemblée législative. Après la défaite, il a démissionné de la direction de son parti. Le 7 septembre 1990, il a été nommé au Sénat du Canada par le premier ministre fédéral de l'époque, Brian Mulroney.

Pendant ses mandats à titre de premier ministre provincial, ses réalisations ont été nombreuses, tant sur la scène nationale que chez lui, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Au palier fédéral, il s'est consacré à la promotion de l'unité nationale et il a joué un rôle important en appuyant la canadianisation de la Constitution canadienne et l'adoption de la Charte des droits et libertés. Ses efforts ont mené à l'inclusion du droit à l'instruction dans la langue de la minorité dans la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. Il a fortement appuyé des modifications de la Loi sur les Indiens visant à rétablir le droit à l'égalité des femmes autochtones au Canada. Le 17 avril 1982, après la proclamation de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, il a été assermenté à titre de membre du Conseil Privé de la Reine.

Son travail en faveur de l'égalité des populations francophone et anglophone du Nouveau-Brunswick ainsi que ses activités de promotion du mouvement en faveur de l'égalité des femmes sont les faits marquants de son apport à sa province natale. Le mérite lui est attribué d'avoir accordé une reconnaissance politique accrue aux Acadiens et Acadiennes, et il a joué un rôle important dans le renforcement des relations entre la population acadienne du Canada atlantique et ses voisins anglophones. Son gouvernement a renforcé le programme libéral Chances égales pour tous et a appliqué la Loi sur les langues officielles. Il a été responsable de l'adhésion du Nouveau-Brunswick à l'Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, une association de pays francophones, dont le Nouveau-Brunswick est devenu membre en 1977.

Ses réformes politiques comprennent la Loi sur le financement de l'activité politique et la révision de la carte électorale du Nouveau-Brunswick pour créer de plus petites circonscriptions représentées par un ou une parlementaire unique. Sa recherche de projets novateurs pour le Nouveau-Brunswick a mené à la production de l'automobile Bricklin, une voiture de sport en acrylique munie de portes papillon, qui a été fabriquée au Nouveau-Brunswick jusqu'à la fin du projet. Il a fondé le Conseil des Premiers ministres des Maritimes et, en 1984, il a commandé de nouvelles armoiries pour le Nouveau-Brunswick pour coïncider avec le bicentenaire du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a été responsable de la création du Conseil de la jeunesse du Nouveau-Brunswick, du Comité consultatif du Premier ministre sur les arts, du Conseil consultatif sur la condition de la femme et du Conseil du Premier ministre sur la condition des personnes handicapées.

Il a été membre du conseil d'administration du Conseil Canadien des Chrétiens et des Juifs et membre honoraire des bureaux de direction de la division du Nouveau-Brunswick de la Société Canadienne de la Croix-Rouge et du conseil provincial des Boy Scouts du Canada.

Il a reçu des doctorats honorifiques en droit des quatre universités du Nouveau-Brunswick ainsi qu'un doctorat honorifique en science politique de l'Université Sainte-Anne, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les Nations malécites et mi'kmaq lui ont accordé le titre honorifique de Chef Tonnerre roulant, et il a reçu le prix d'amitié Canada-Israël.

Il comptait parmi ses intérêts les voyages partout au Canada et dans le monde ainsi que la préservation du patrimoine et il a participé activement à la Carleton County Historical Society. Ce dernier intérêt s'est révélé au tout début de sa carrière. Dans son tout premier discours à l'Assemblée législative à titre de député, il a proposé la création d'un comité chargé de diriger les travaux de rénovation du décor et des meubles de l'édifice de l'Assemblée législative. Au cours des années 80, les travaux de restauration et de remise en état de la Chambre historique de l'Assemblée législative, construite en 1882, ont témoigné de son engagement à l'égard de la préservation du patrimoine.

Il a admiré et reçu divers oeuvres d'art et a fait la promotion d'artistes canadiens et de leur oeuvres. Pour respecter ses voeux, la Galerie d'art Beaverbrook, au Nouveau-Brunswick, a créé le Senator Richard Hatfield Memorial Fund. Le fonds appuie l'acquisition par la galerie d'oeuvres d'art canadiens ainsi que le programme d'approche, qui permet à la galerie de partager sa collection avec les écoles et d'autres galeries partout dans la province.

L'hon. Richard Bennett Hatfield est mort à Ottawa le 26 avril 1991, à l'âge de 60 ans. Puisqu'il s'agissait d'un des plus importants personnages de marque du Nouveau-Brunswick, des premiers ministres provinciaux et fédéraux, des amis et des adversaires ont assisté à ses funérailles à Fredericton pour célébrer la vie d'un homme qui a tant donné au Nouveau-Brunswick.


Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Courrier électronique | Coordonnées | Décharge