Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Premiers Since Confederation
Home | Français

John McNair


The Honourable John Babbitt McNair was born to James McNair and Francis Anne Lewis on November 20th 1889, in Andover, Victoria County, New Brunswick. As a youth he attended Andover Grammar School and Florenceville Consolidated School before enrolling at the University of New Brunswick in 1907. He distinguished himself as a scholar before graduating with his B.A. in 1911, receiving numerous awards including the Lieutenant-Governors Award and served as his class valedictorian. He was awarded a Rhodes Scholarship to attend Oxford University, where he further distinguished himself by earning first-class honours, and received a B.A. in 1913 and a B.C.L. in 1914.

Following the outbreak of the First World War, McNair enlisted with the Armed Forces and served with the Canadian Expeditionary Force in France and Germany. By the war’s close he had attained the rank of Lieutenant. Following the outbreak of the Second World War, McNair volunteered once again and served as a Captain in the Royal Canadian Artillery Reserves.

Following his return to New Brunswick in 1919, McNair was admitted to the bar and entered into a law partnership with J.J.F. Winslow at Fredericton. Over the next 15 years he became a leading member of several fraternal, religious and other community organizations. He also became a barrister and solicitor of some note, eventually being appointed a King’s Counsel on July 16th 1935.

It was during this period that McNair became involved in public affairs. A rising-star in the Liberal Party, in October 1932 he became President of the New Brunswick Liberal Association. He held this position until 1940. During the election campaign of June 1935, McNair was instrumental in A. Alison Dysart’s successful election to the premier’s office. At the same election, the 46 year-old McNair was elected to the Legislative Assembly as a representative for York County.

McNair was appointed Attorney-General in Premier Dysart’s cabinet on July 16th 1935. He held this position for the next seventeen years, until his retirement from politics in 1952. In the Legislative Chambers, McNair distinguished himself as a gifted speaker and was widely regarded as the most able member of Dysart’s government. Dysart frequently suffered from ill-health and during his many absences from the Legislature McNair served as Acting Premier. Although defeated in York County at the general election of November 20th 1939, a by-election was created for McNair in Victoria County and on January 20th 1940 he was re-elected.

Shortly afterwards Dysart retired from political life, and on March 13th 1940 McNair was sworn in as premier. He also continued as Attorney-General and, with a reputation as a hands-on administrator, he also briefly added the portfolios of Labour, Health and Labour, and Lands and Mines to his responsibilities. Considered to have been New Brunswick’s most intellectually gifted premier, McNair was also a shrewd politician and excellent debater who regularly used his cutting wit to fend off criticism from the Opposition benches. He was perhaps the last premier to write all his own speeches, which he did by hand either at his home on Waterloo Row or at his cabin at Gordon Vale.

Governing the province during the war years and through harsh economic times, McNair is credited with introducing a succession of budgetary surpluses, undertaking a massive rural electrification program, improving education in rural areas, expanding the role of the civil service, centralizing the provincial government offices and New Brunswick Electric Power Commission in Fredericton. Following the war, he introduced a variety of social benefit programs, began the modernization of the highway system, and created a Department of Industry and Reconstruction to ensure a smooth economic and social transition for the province from wartime to peacetime.

He was also instrumental in modernizing politics. For the August 1944 general election, McNair became the first politician in Canada to employ the services of a professional advertising agency to direct a political campaign. Following this tremendously successful campaign, the Liberals won all but five seats in the Legislature. After a similar election campaign in June 1948, McNair’s Liberals were returned to office with a similar majority. McNair continued as premier until his party’s defeat at the polls in 1952.

McNair then returned to his Fredericton law practice. In July 1955 he was appointed a Justice in Appeal, Supreme Court of New Brunswick. In October 1955 he was appointed Chief Justice in Appeal, Supreme Court of New Brunswick. He retired from the bench in 1964 on account of age. During his career after politics, McNair was also a member of the Senate for the University of New Brunswick, Chairman of the Selection Committee for the Awarding of the Beaverbrook Scholarships, and a member of the Beaverbrook Art Gallery Board.

In June 1965, at age 76, McNair was appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick. He held this position until January 31st 1968 when illness forced him to resign. He died six months later on June 14th 1968.

McNair married Mary MacGregor Crocket on May 17th 1921, and they had three daughters and one son. Not long after McNair assumed the premiership, his wife’s health deteriorated in an alarming fashion and she spent much of her time in hospitals. Therefore, in addition to assuming the responsibility for the affairs of the province, McNair also shouldered the heavy responsibility of raising four children. Following the death of his first wife in 1961, McNair married Margaret Jones on April 27 1963.

Among the many awards the Hon. John B. McNair received in his life were an honorary L.L.D. from the University of New Brunswick in 1938 and an honorary D.C.L. from Mount Allison University in 1951. He was designated a Companion of the Order of Canada on July 6th 1967, but the award had to be presented posthumously as the scheduled ceremony did not take place until September 23rd 1968.


Sources:
Dalton Camp, Gentlemen, Players and Politicians, 1970.
Dalton Camp, “A remarkable public man”, Telegraph Journal (Oct. 26 1999).
Arthur Doyle, The Premiers of New Brunswick, 1983.
Don Hoyt, A Brief History of the Liberal Party of New Brunswick, 1999.
R.A. Tweedie, On With The Dance: A New Brunswick Memoir 1935-1960, 1986.
Calvin Woodward, The History of New Brunswick Provincial Election Campaigns
     and Platforms 1866-1974, 1976.
Canadian Parliamentary Guide, Various Years.
The Canadian Who’s Who, Volume X, 1964-1966.
Elections in New Brunswick 1784-1984, 1984.
Prominent People of New Brunswick, 1937.


Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
Email | Contacts |
Disclaimer

Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Premiers ministres depuis la confédération
Page d'accueil | English

John McNair


L'hon. John Babitt McNair est né le 20 novembre 1889, à Andover, dans le comté de Victoria, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était le fils de James McNair et de Francis Anne Lewis. Il a fréquenté l'école primaire de Andover et l'école consolidée de Florenceville avant de s'inscrire à l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1907. Il s'est distingué en tant que boursier avant d'obtenir son B.A. en 1911, puisqu'il a reçu plusieurs prix, y compris la Médaille du lieutenant-gouverneur, et il a prononcé le discours d'adieu. Il s'est mérité une bourse Rhodes pour fréquenter l'université Oxford, où il s'est distingué davantage en obtenant le premier rang de la classe, et il a obtenu un B.A. en 1913 et un B.D.C. en 1914.

Après le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, M. McNair s'est enrôlé dans les forces armées et il a servi au sein du Corps expéditionnaire canadien en France et en Allemagne. À la fin de la guerre, il avait atteint le rang de lieutenant. Après le déclenchement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, M. McNair s'est porté une fois de plus volontaire et a servi en tant que capitaine dans la réserve de l'Artillerie royale canadienne.

Après son retour au Nouveau-Brunswick, en 1919, M. McNair a été admis au barreau et s'est associé à J.J.F. Winslow pour former un cabinet, à Fredericton. Pendant les 15 années qui suivirent, il devint un membre de premier plan de plusieurs organismes fraternels, religieux et communautaires. Il est aussi devenu un avocat important, et il a été nommé conseil du roi le 16 juillet 1935.

Pendant la même période, M. McNair a commencé à participer aux affaires publiques. Une étoile montante au sein du Parti libéral, il est devenu président de l'Association libérale du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1932. Il a occupé ce poste jusqu'en 1940. Pendant la campagne électorale de juin 1935, M. McNair a été indispensable à l'élection de A. Alison Dysart au poste de premier ministre. Lors des mêmes élections, M. McNair, âgé de 46 ans, a été élu à l'Assemblée législative à titre de représentant du comté de York.

Le 16 juillet 1935, M. McNair a été nommé procureur général au sein du cabinet du premier ministre Dysart. Il a occupé ce poste pendant les 17 années qui suivirent, jusqu'à sa retraite de la politique en 1952. À l'Assemblée législative, M. McNair s'est distingué en tant qu'orateur doué et était vu comme le plus habile des députés du gouvernement Dysart. M. Dysart était souvent malade, et, pendant ses nombreuses absences de l'Assemblée législative, M. McNair occupait le poste de premier ministre suppléant. Même s'il n'a pas été réélu dans le comté de York lors des élections générales du 20 novembre 1939, une élection partielle a été mise sur pied pour M. McNair dans le comté de Victoria et, le 20 janvier 1940, il a été réélu.

Peu de temps après, M. Dysart s'est retiré de la vie politique, et, le 13 mars 1940, M. McNair a été assermenté à titre de premier ministre. Il a aussi continué son travail en tant que procureur général et, étant donné sa réputation d'administrateur de terrain, il a aussi ajouté brièvement à ses responsabilités les portefeuilles du Travail, de la Santé et du Travail, et des Terres et des Mines. Considéré comme ayant été le plus intelligent de tous les premiers ministres du Nouveau-Brunswick, M. McNair était aussi un habile politicien et un excellent débatteur qui utilisait souvent son esprit acerbe pour parer les critiques de l'opposition. Il était peut-être le dernier premier ministre qui écrivait tous ses discours lui-même, ce qu'il faisait à la main chez lui, sur le rang Waterloo, ou à son chalet, à Gordon Vale.

M. McNair a gouverné la province pendant les années de guerre et des temps économiques difficiles, et on lui a attribué la présentation d'une série excédents budgétaires, la mise en place d'un programme important d'électrification rurale, l'amélioration de l'éducation dans les régions rurales, l'élargissement du rôle de la fonction publique et la centralisation à Fredericton des bureaux du gouvernement provincial et de la Commission d'énergie électrique du Nouveau-Brunswick. Après la guerre, il a instauré divers programmes d'avantages sociaux, a commencé la modernisation du système routier et a créé le ministère de l'Industrie et de la Reconstruction afin d'assurer à la province une transition économique et sociale en douceur entre les périodes de guerre et de paix.

Il a aussi contribué à la modernisation de la politique. Pour les élections générales d'août 1944, M. McNair a été le premier politicien au Canada à embaucher les services d'une agence de publicité professionnelle pour diriger une campagne politique. À la suite de la campagne extrêmement réussie, les Libéraux ont remporté tous les sièges à l'Assemblée législative, sauf cinq. Après une campagne électorale similaire en juin 1948, les Libéraux de M. McNair ont été réélus avec une majorité semblable. M. McNair a été premier ministre jusqu'à la défaite de son parti aux élections de 1952.

M. McNair est ensuite retourné à son cabinet d'avocat à Fredericton. En juillet 1955, il a été nommé juge de la Division d'appel de la Cour suprême du Nouveau-Brunswick. En octobre 1955, il a été nommé juge en chef de la Division d'appel de la Cour suprême du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a pris sa retraite comme juge en 1964 en raison de son âge. Pendant sa carrière après la politique, M. McNair était aussi membre du Sénat de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, président du comité de sélection pour la distribution des bourses Beaverbrook, et membre du conseil d'administration de la Galerie d'art Beaverbrook.

En juin 1965, alors qu'il était âgé de 76 ans, M. McNair a été nommé lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a occupé ce poste jusqu'au 31 janvier 1968, au moment où la maladie l'a forcé à démissionner. Il est décédé six mois plus tard, le 14 juin 1968.

M. McNair a épousé Mary MacGregor Crocket le 17 mai 1921, et ils ont eu trois filles et un garçon. Peu de temps après que M. McNair soit devenu premier ministre, la santé de sa femme s'est détériorée de façon alarmante, et elle a passé la plupart de son temps dans les hôpitaux. Par conséquent, en plus d'assumer la responsabilité des affaires de la province, M. McNair a assumé la lourde responsabilité d'élever quatre enfants. Après la mort de sa première femme en 1961, il a épousé Margaret Jones le 27 avril 1963.

L'hon. John McNair s'est mérité de nombreux prix dans sa vie, dont un doctorat honorifique en droit de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1938 et un doctorat honorifique en droit canon de la Mount Allison University en 1951. Il a été nommé Compagnon de l'Ordre du Canada le 6 juillet 1967, mais le prix lui a été décerné à titre posthume puisque la cérémonie n'a pas eu lieu avant le 23 septembre 1968.


Références:
Dalton Camp, Gentlemen, Players and Politicians, 1970.
Dalton Camp, «A remarkable public man», Telegraph Journal (Oct. 26 1999).
Arthur Doyle, The Premiers of New Brunswick, 1983.
Don Hoyt, A Brief History of the Liberal Party of New Brunswick, 1999.
R.A. Tweedie, On With The Dance: A New Brunswick Memoir 1935-1960, 1986.
Calvin Woodward, The History of New Brunswick Provincial Election Campaigns
     and Platforms 1866-1974, 1976.
Canadian Parliamentary Guide, diverses éditions.
The Canadian Who’s Who, Volume X, 1964-1966.
Elections in New Brunswick 1784-1984, 1984.
Prominent People of New Brunswick, 1937.


Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick
Courrier électronique | Coordonnées | Décharge